Wilson brothers impress with a duo of victories in Bowls Championships in Magherally

The West Down Zone National and Ladies championships were played before an enthusiastic crowd in Magherally Parish Hall.

The most successful bowlers on the night were the Wilson brothers, Jonny and DJ, who assisted by father and son combination of Trevor and Jonny Gray, defeated Davy Malcolmson of Ballydougan 12-3 in the fours final before enjoying a 13-8 victory over Nigel Hamilton and Seamus Byrne St.John’s Gilford.

In section B of the pairs Allan Johnston and Daniel Gilliland, St.Patrick’s, Donaghcloney beat Gavin and William Clingham 12-8. The National triples final produced the best game of the evening with the Martin family. John, wife Lynn and daughter Patricia, edging out the Murphy family Seamus, son Brendan and daughter Paula 9-8 after an epic battle.

The National singles produced emphatic victories for Conor McCartan, who overcame Aidan Magee 13-7 in section A and Eddie Campbell who defeated Ian McBride 11-5 in Section B. The Ladies finals also produced some compelling action with Patricia Martin securing a 14-3 victory over Ann Polin.

Polin enjoyed some measure of compensation in the pairs, where in tandem with Doris Johnston she defeated her clubmates, Bernie Conlon and Ann Magee 9-8. The triples final produced something of a surprise when the St.John’s trio Doris Johnston, Nora Kinnin and Jenny Nesbitt defeated the fancied All.Saints trio May McAdam, Annie Burrell and Angela Cannaway also 9-8. The list of qualifiers for the National play-offs is as follows:

National Singles: Conor McCartan, Eddie Campbell

National Pairs: D J and Jonny Wilson, Daniel Gilliland and Allan Johnston

National Triples: John Martin

National Fours: Jonny Wilson

Ladies Singles: Patricia Martin

Ladies Pairs: Doris Johnston and Ann Polin

Ladies Triples: Jenny Nesbitt

The inter-zone shield semi-final takes place in St Annes Hall, Dungannon on Saturday 25th January at 2pm. The following players have been selected:

D.Malcolmson, D.Gilliland, R.Scott, B.Murphy, H.Hylands, I.McBride, P.Convery, J.Martin, G.Chambers, E.Campbell, A.Johnston, C.Dillon, D.Scott, L.Graham, C.Sherwin, G.Clingham, R.Kidd, S.Kidd, C.McCartan, J.Gray, S.Murphy, J.Wilson, L.Murray, D.J.Wilson.

Res: F.Murphy, L.Magennis, A.Ingram, S.McBride, D.McAuley.

Report to the Zone convenor at 1.45pm.