Wheelers hold 23rd annual dinner

LAST Friday night almost 60 members and guests of West Down Wheelers headed to the Belmont Hotel for their 23rd dinner and prize giving.

Special guests were Cycling Ulster’s Tommy and Marian Lamb. Chairman Billy Maxwell gave everyone a warm welcome and asked Clive to give thanks for the food.

Billy said that he was delighted and proud the way the club has turned itself round and said that Clive and Davy told him recently that more people were inquiring about joining the club next year so its looking like an even better year next year.

Billy then gave a wee talk on all the new riders which always brings a laugh or two. He then handed over to compere for the night, Club Race Secretary Clive Adamson. Clive thanked everyone and especialy Tommy and Marian for coming before he gave a more detailed report on club on all the riders.

Clive went on to say that they were being talked about now for all the right reasons and they have riders who joined this year will do themselves and club proud next year. There will be six to ten new riders next year, possibly more, and they will have another four riders taking part in open racing next year.

He went on to say that the amount of riders from the other clubs who said are new club design is excellent is very pleasing.

Clive went on to thank the timekeepers, Billy, and Club President Derek; their regular marshalls Bertie and Barbara Wilkinson and whoever helped throughout the year -the two Barbara’s, Wilkinson and Gamble, for there help doing the teas at the events, adding that this is why the club is going well before thanking retiring marshall M.Maxwell for all his help over the years.

Clive then asked everyone to pull togather and make next year’s the best ever,

He then called on Marian to come up to hand out as the prizes were handed out Clive gave a talk on the riders which brought many laughs.

Marian said that along with her husband they have been coming to the Wheelers for a while now and cannot believe the way the club is going and its a credit to those who believed that they could turn it around.

Marian added that they love coming to the dinner as it’s such a good night’s craic.

PRIZE GIVING: S. Dunlop - Replica; S. Cantly - Replica, Cromie Cup; D. Cantly - Lady Replica; S Kerry - Outlook Shield; P McKinstry - Weir Trophy; K Wells - Maxwell Shield; A McCourt - Poppy McKeown- D Cartmill - Clubman and Magowan Shield; J Kernaghan - Hill Climb and Australian Pursuit champion (John Maxwell Memorial Cup; J Priestly - Most Improved Schoolboy; P Wilkinson - club champion, road race champion and B.A.R champion, Steven Savage Memorial for 25TT Morcas, Murdoch and Bunty Adamson rider of the year trophy.

There will be a meeting in old libary in a week or two. There is a new calender for sale and all the riders are on it. Also a reminder to members to keep eye on the website.

A big thank-you to the Belmont for all their help.