West Down Wheelers prepare for historic 2014 season

The West Down Wheelers get their 25th anniversary season underway next week.

Their historic season of club events on leaves the starting line on Tuesday 1 April with a 10 mile time trial on the Rathfriland Road.

That seaosn-opener begins at 6.45pm and the good news is that the Wheelers have five new riders joining their ranks.

Club champion Paul Wilkinson is looking forward to another great season of club events as are Matthew McKinistry, Mark Alexander Will Maxwell, Clive Adamson, Adrian McCourt and new member John Clyde.

The Rathfriland Road is a tough course and will test the riders in this opening 10 mile cycle. Timekeeper Derek Gamble will again keep the times of the riders in this opening race of the 2014 season and Bertie Wilkinson, along with his wife Barbara, will again be the marshalls at the turns.

It all makes for another great season ahead for this great club, in its 25th anniversary year.

It’ll also be a busy year for the club treasurer Eddie Cantley and a particularly proud year for club two club officials.

Billy Maxwell, club chairman, and Clive Adamson, club race secretary, who have been members with the wheelers since it was formed in 1989 both are experienced riders and will surely take much pleasure in the club’s 25th anniversary.

Clive still competes in the racing colours of the West Down Wheelers but Billy retired six years ago in 2008 after a colourful 50 years in the saddle. He’s a former NI 100 mile time trial champion and certainly has a huge racing pedigree.