Unlucky Seapatrick fall to Crewe United

THIS Mid Ulster Intermediate’ A’ league match got started in the sixth minute when the Village were awarded a penalty, after Liam McGarry was upended in the box but unfortunately the resultant penalty was placed wide continuing the Village’s woes from the spot.

Minutes later Ryan Graham got himself in a great position but the Crewe keeper was sharp off his line to thwart the attack. The Village then threatened the Crewe goal on a number of occasions but could not put the visitors to the sword.

Seapatrick were awarded a free kick after half an hour with Boo McGrath rising only to see his header slip past the post.

Crewe got a penalty near half time which was converted by the visiting centre forward. Seapatrick responded brightly applying pressure but could not get an equaliser before the end of the half.

Seapatrick started the second half the livelier of the two teams. Boo McGrath had a chance cleared off the line and the resultant corner was well saved by the Crewe goalkeeper. Stuart Sinnamon earned a free kick for the Village on the hour mark from which the Crewe defender was shown a second yellow reducing the visitors to 10 men.

This was the start of a crazy half hour with Crewe scoring their second goal just moments later. Then after 70 minutes Village pulled a goal back from a swiftly executed counter attack which resulted in Ryan Graham’s strike nestling in the visitors net. Crewe then had two further players dismissed on 76 and 80 minutes.

Seapatrick now had the run of the pitch with only keeper Paul McGrath in the Seapatrick half. A number of attacking changes were then made with Crewe having their backs to the wall.

Following a lovely passing movement between Andrew Chambers and Mark Watt an opportunity for Sinnamon arose but this went just the wrong side of the post.

Village thought they had found a way through near the end when additional centre forward Boo McGrath found the net only for the ref to disallow the goal for offside.

Seapatrick continued to press Crewe back but the visitors remained resolute to the end seeing out the final moments of the game to take the spoils back to Glenavy.

Seapatrick - Paul McGrath, Phillip Davidson, Alan McGrath, Dean Lennon, Joel Annett, Sean McGarry, Liam McGarry, Mark Watt, Aaron Buchanan, Ryan Graham, Stuart Sinnamon, Warren Buchanan, Damien McParland, Stephen Beck, Andrew Chambers.

Next up for Seapatrick is a local derby this coming Friday night against Banbridge Rangers.