U15s have reasons to be cheerful despite loss

Valley Rangers 2

Monday, 30th August 2010, 9:51 am
Updated Monday, 30th August 2010, 5:53 pm

Moneyslane U15s 1

SLANE U15 travelled to Kilkeel to play Valley Rangers on Saturday for a pre-season friendly in the build up the start of the season.

This was a very evenly contested game from the start. Slane were knocked back on their heels after three minutes when Valley grabbed an early goal.

The Slane lads then started to play some nice football. Goalkeeper Ross Bingham was excellent in goals. The defence of Ross Kerr, Gareth McCabe, Adam Gibson and Keith McGuigan were very solid after the early goal went in and it gave them a lift. The midfield of Matthew Smyth, Andrew Neill, Dylan Neill and Stephen Adair were combing well together and with the strikers of Curtis Gibson and Joshua Cargin.

It was this paring that got Slane back into the game. Bingham launched a massive kick out which beat everybody but Curtis reacted the quickest and slotted the ball into the net for the equaliser.

Slane were now the better team and were putting some good pressure on the Valley defence.

They started the second half like the first conceding early with Valley scoring inside four minutes. They never gave up and could have had an equaliser only for Curtis to be denied by the bar.

Slane then gave away a penalty and the Valley striker slotted it past the keeper. Credit to Slane, they never dropped their heads. Josh hit the side netting on 46 minutes.

Four minutes from time Slane pulled a goal back. Josh got the ball on his left and slid it past the keeper’s left side and into the net.

Slane then pushed for the equaliser and could have got it but for some great goalkeeping from the Valley keeper. Curtis fired in a high shot only for the keeper to get his fingertips to it.

This was a great performance from the lads and the manager was very proud of the performance they put in. Man of the Match was Ross Kerr who had a very solid game in defence.

Team: Ross Bingham, Gareth McCabe, Adam Gibson, Ross Kerr, Keith McGuigan, Stephen Adair, Andrew Neill, Dylan Neill, Matthew Smyth, Curtis Gibson, Joshua Cargin, Wendy Moorhead, Dale McMullen.