Tullylish forward among Down Allstar nominees

Tullylish forward Gareth Johnston is among the monimees for this year’s Club Down Allstars, sponsored by O’Reilly Transport Ireland Ltd.

Tuesday, 17th November 2015, 10:16 am
Newcastle West won both the senior and minor football and Doon winning the Premier minor hurling title in a busy local GAA weekend

The scheme, now in its second year, will honour the leading players from the senior, intermediate and junior championships and leagues.

A panel will now select the final 15, which will be revealed at the Gala Dinner at the Canal Court Hotel in Newry on Friday 4th December 2015.

The event will also include presentation of the senior, intermediate and junior footballers and hurlers of the year and the annual Spirit of Breen Morgan Award for the leading intercounty senior footballer of 2015.

Unsurprisingly, Kilcoo lead the way among the Allstar nominations, with midfielder Paul Greenan and two sets of brothers – defenders Aaron and Daryl Brannigan and forwards Ryan and Jerome Johnston. There are three nominations for county senior finalists Castlewellan and two each for Loughinisland and junior champions Glasdrumman.

Stephen Kane, Paul Greenan, Daryl Branagan and Ryan O’Hare are the only players among the 26 nominated who were selected in the 2014 Allstars XV.

The Spirit of Breen Morgan Award was inaugurated some years ago by Club Down in memory of the late Breen Morgan from Annaclone who was a member of the All-Ireland winning 1960 team. The award honours a player who excelled in the Down colours during the previous season.

Previous recipients include Danny Hughes, Dan Gordon, Mark Poland, Conor Laverty and last year’s award winner Daniel McCartan.

The full list of nominees is:


Stephen Kane (Kilcoo)

Mark Reid (Bryansford)


Aaron Branagan (Kilcoo)

Daryl Branagan (Kilcoo)

Conor Doyle (An Ríocht)

Kevin Duffin (Castlewellan)

Tommy McElroy (Bredagh)

Gerard McGovern (Burren)

Shane McNamee (Mayobridge)

Daniel Morgan (Castlewellan)

Darren O’Hagan (Clonduff)

Robbie White (Ballyholland)


Dan Gordon (Loughinisland)

Paul Greenan (Kilcoo)

Shane Harrison (Glasdrumman)

Stephen Rooney (Ardglass)


Cathal Arnold (Saul)

Aidan Burns (Castlewellan)

Connaire Harrison (Glasdrumman)

Gareth Johnston (Tullylish)

Jerome Johnston (Kilcoo)

Ryan Johnston (Kilcoo)

Rory Mason (Loughinisland)

Donagh McAleenan (Warrenpoint)

Shay Miller (Glenn)

Ryan O’Hare (Ballymartin)