Slane hold their first golf classic

The winners of the Moneyslane Golf Classic were Andrew Smyth, Club Chairman Brian Ervine, David Niblock, Aaron Clydesdale and Darren Trimble.
The winners of the Moneyslane Golf Classic were Andrew Smyth, Club Chairman Brian Ervine, David Niblock, Aaron Clydesdale and Darren Trimble.

MONEYSLANE FC held their first ever inaugural Golf Classic at Kilkeel Golf Club on Friday April 27.

There was an exceptional turnout of golfers on the day with 23 teams participating in the four ball competition with just under 100 competitors.

All golfers received a Club goodie bag heading out onto the course and the first four ball team teed off at 1pm with the last team teeing off at 5pm.

Immediately after each team entered the Club House after their exhausting 18 holes they sat down to a sumptuous Roast Beef or Turkey and Ham carvery lunch and finished off with a dessert.

Golf Co-Ordinator Roy Boyd thanked all the Golfers and supporters who turned out on the day to participate and also thanked all the hard working Committee members who worked hard behind the scenes to make the day such a success and a special thanks went to the effervescent Michael O’Kane who worked tirelessly on the day and in the run up to the event.

Michael thanked Kilkeel Golf Course for their kind hospitality and thanked the chef for the splendid carvery.

Roy also had a special mention for the sponsors of all the holes: KMS Sports, Newry: Mourne Hydraulics: CJs & Big Cs Bistro: Irvine & Little Electrics: J Davenport Roofing: Stewart & James Hardware: John Frazer Motors: Supervalu: The Look: SM Shoes: Warburton’s Jewellers: Clothes Peg: Homeland Diner: Murdock Hardware: Pinnacle Sports: Lexus 5: Anglers Rest: RJG Bullock: Trim Tech Graphics: DN Tyres: Cut Both Ways: Deep Blue: Chip shop Cafe: Roy Boyd: Fisher & Fisher: Michael O’Kane: Three Interiors: Milestone: Grahams Ice Cream.

Roy said without their loyal support the Golf Classic would not have been so successful and said that all the sponsor boards looked extremely professional at each hole.

Tensions were running high at the card count which was rounded off at 9.30pm and the awards were announced and presented by the hard working Club Chairman Brian Ervine.

Overall winners on the day were David Niblock, Darren Trimble, Aaron Clydesdale and Andrew Smyth who received top prize of £200 and a free round of golf each at Kilkeel golf course.

Runners up were Nigel Hanna, Patrick Ward, James Ward and Matthew Johnston who all received Golf Shirts.

Third spot was picked up by Stuart Ferris, Mark McCully, Geoff Little and Mark Ervine and they won free golf lessons from professional Jerry Scullion.

Nearest the pin was won by Clive Donaldson at hole 15 and Gavin Armstrong at hole 11 and they won a box of golf balls each.

The longest drive was by Gareth McDowell who won an umbrella.

The best effort on the day award was won by Allen English, Mark Connor, David English and Joe Porter.

A spokesman said, “Our family football club now look forward to next year’s event and with your continued loyal and enthusiastic support it will be even more successful than our inaugural competition.“