Seedings decided for Banbridge GC match-play

The draws for the President's Prize, the Matchplay Championship and the Mixed Foursomes have been made and are displayed on the noticeboard.

Thursday, 28th April 2016, 7:49 am
Gina and Eamon McConville, current holders of the Mixed Foursomes Championship.

There are several enticing match-ups and it is very difficult to predict the winners.

The seeded players in the President’s Prize are as follows: Cecil Wilson and Cathal McNiff; Tom Mulholland and Eamon Galloway; Danny O’Boyle and Paul Faulkner; Martin McAleenan and Damian Weir; Kenny Arlow and Gary McCormick; Seamus Rooney and Eugene Weir; Robert Haire and Cathal O’Neill, Gavin Greer and John Gallagher.

Last year’s winners, Ken Stevenson and Jim Mallon, play Martin McAleenan and Damian Weir. That could be the “big game” of the opening round.

If I had to pick one pair to win, it would be Kenny Arlow and Gary McCormick.

The eight seeded players in the Matchplay are Cathal O’Neill, Philip McCourt, James Bryson, Shane Crossan, Aidy McEvoy, John J. Lennon, Alan McVey and Peter Hillen.

Aidy McEvoy will relish the opportunity to put one over on his old geography teacher, Seamus McGrath.

The four seeded pairings in the Mixed Foursomes are as follows: Donald and Jane Doyle; Rory Madeley and Melissa Whan, Sherwin and Karen Curran; Eamon and Gina McConville.

Eamon and Gina are the holders and they could very well win it again.

There will be a lot of fun before the winners are decided.