Banbridge Academy all set for the Schools’ Trophy final

The Banbridge Academy squad celebrate reaching the final.
The Banbridge Academy squad celebrate reaching the final.

Banbridge Academy’s First XV will contest the Schools’ Trophy final this Wednesday (24th February) against Belfast High School.

The final, the first of the major schools finals, will be held at Roughfort, home of B.R.A., in Mallusk and will kick off at 3.00pm.

The Academy made the final as a result of wins over Wellington College 5-0 and Cambridge House 27-10.

Their opponents had wins over Lurgan College 3-0 and Larne Grammar school 13-7.

The Belfast school will enter the tie as slight favourites as a result of an early season 7-0 win over the Academy.

But with injuries that day, all those involved are expecting a close affair.

The locals are Captained by Winger Michael McGaffin and the pack is led by prop Tom Lyttle. Further steel is added to the pack in the form of 2nd Row Peter Heaney and back row Jonny McIntosh. In the backs, Centre Ross Cartmill and Full Back Ben Russell have been the form players and the Academy will be hoping they can replicate that good play to lead them forward.

The full Academy squad is as follows: 1 John Wilson, 2 Timmy Beattie, 3 Tom Lyttle, 4 Peter Heaney, 5 Ethan Cromie, 6 Jonathan Campbell, 7 Jonathan McIntosh, 8 Jack Macaulay, 9 Jordan Mount, 10 Ben Thompson, 11 Troy Pinion, 12 Thomas Russell, 13 Ross Cartmill, 14 Michael McGaffin (Capt), 15 Ben Russell. Replacements 16 Scott Buchannon , 17 Corin Boardman, 18 Stuart Totten, 19 Toby Baxter, 20 Andrew Mitchell, 21 Tom Flanagan, 22 Jack Dolaghan, 23 Andrew Rutledge.