You can call on Jane as she wins O2 Trophy in latest competition

Share this article

The recent spell of good weather has resulted in some fantastic scoring at Banbridge Golf Club ladies branch.

On Tuesday July 21 the ladies played for the O2 Trophy which was won by Jane Doyle with 44 points.

Other prize winners were: Section A winner - Denise McBrien, runner up - Fionnuala Crossey; Section B winner - Liz Ramsey, runner up - Joy Gowdy; Section C winner - Robena McCandless, runner up - Margaret Mulligan.

Three ladies had a two, namely Ann Cromie, Fionnuala Crossey and Helen Cocks, who had two.

Golfer of the year points for the O2 Trophy were: 6, Jane Doyle; 5, Denise McBrien; 4, Fionnuala Crossey; 3, Liz Ramsey; 2, Joy Cowdy.

Two handicap cupts were recorded: Denise McBrien (14-13) and Jane Doyle (32-28).

On Friday July 26 was the final Open Day of the year sponsored by Walkers, Banbridge. The ladies would like to thank Jonto Walker for his generous sponsorship of the Open. Full list of prize winners: Winner - Katrina Bradford; Gross - Denise McBrien; Section A winner - Aideen Canavan; Section B winner - Mary Dooher; Section C winner - Ann Blevins; first nine - Jane Doyle; second nine - Mary Jo Thompson; nearest to the pin - Janice Thompson.

Twos were scored by Bernie Duffy, Janice Thompson, Joyce McCammon, Claire Parks and Lee Broderick.

Mary Dooher’ handicap was cut from 28-27 and Mary Jo Thompson’s from 27-26.