Wilson wraps up Ulster League with another win

editorial image

LAST Thursday night saw the 20 third round of Dromara Cycling Club’s summer club league take place, with 44 riders gathering at Woodfall nursery between Ballynahinch and Anahilt.

This round was somewhat different from the other rounds, with this round being a ‘three-up’ 10 mile time trial on the Anahilt circuit.

Riders were put into teams by race secretary Gavin Magowan with a range of abilities, with the teams having a range of time trialling abilities to even out the race.

The timekeeper, Conor Rice, got the riders underway at 7pm with each time being set off at one minute intervals.

After all 14 teams were on the course it wasn’t long before they were arriving at the finish with some very quick times being set on the night.

The fastest team on the night with the team of Ronnie Smyth, Nathan Mullan and Brendan Doyle setting a fast time of 25:12.

Ryan Mallon, Chris Magowan and Ivan Bradford finishing the three-up time trial on Thursday night.

Ryan Mallon, Chris Magowan and Ivan Bradford finishing the three-up time trial on Thursday night.

Second on the night was the team consisting of Trevor Wright, Anthony Quinn and Gary Gray in a time of 25:26, with Gary Bailie, Zak Hanna and Ryan Calvert coming home in 25:38 to take third place.

Big thanks to the timekeepers and marshals who helped out on the night.

The next round is this Thursday night with a four mile hilly time trial along the back of Slieve Croob, taking in gruelling climbs along the way.

The start is at English’s Pub at Clonvaraghan, with sign on at 6:30pm. For more information see the message board at www.dromaracc.co.uk

DROMARA RIDERS EXCEL AT CRAIGAVON LAKES - The sixth and final round of the Ulster XC MTB League took took place at Craigavon Watersports Centre under the organisation of Apollo Cycling Team.

With the previous five rounds taking place throughout the summer it was time for the riders from Dromara CC see out the season in style, with two Ulster Champions already in the ranks.

The riders ranged from under 8s right up to the Senior Two category with 26 Dromara riders in total.

There was some excellent results from the riders, notably the current Ulster Under 10 champion Ben Wilson who won again in fine style to wrap up the overall Ulster League title. Aaron McCutcheon was second in the under 14s, with Diane Wilson winning the Senior 3 women’s race.

Well done to all riders who competed. Now the attention is turned to the cyclo-cross season, and you can find more information on that by keeping an eye on the Dromara CC website and Ulster XC website.