Will Banbridge’s Golfer of the Year be Malcolm or James?

Kieran Berryman looks set to win Golf of the Year title at Roe Park.
Kieran Berryman looks set to win Golf of the Year title at Roe Park.
Share this article

Who will be crowned the 2014 “Golfer of The Year” at Banbridge Golf Club?

With only four Saturday competitions remaining, it looks like a two-horse race between Malcolm Russell and James Wilson.

There will, of course, be extra points added for the Matchplay Championship and the Haughton Smyth Cup.

The top 30, after the Scratch Cups, is as follows:

Malcolm Russell 353 points; James Wilson 345; Adam McGregor 328; Andrew Quinn 287; Neil Comiskey 272; Eugene Weir 265; John Bell 261; Shane Crossan 253; Matthew Mallon 253; Seamus Rooney 242; Joe Mcgivern 239; Richard Coburn 228; John Gallagher 227; Mel Hylands 226; Rory Madeley 220; John Convery 216; Aaron Buchanan 213; Conor Mulholland 210; Bill McCandless 209; Paul Magennis 208; Gary McCormick 205; Luke Crory 205; Hugo Downey 204; Jonathan Shannon 204; Gordon Enderson 200; Joe Whiteside 198; Kevin McKay 198; Colin McKinney 197; Philip Mallon 196.

Rory and Megan in Mixed Foursomes final

Rory Madeley and Megan Whan have reached the final of the Mixed Foursomes Championship after a 4 and 3 victory over Brendan Meade and Marianne Nelson.

The other semi-final has yet to be played. It features the lady captain, Denise McBrien, and her husband Gerry against Cecil Wilson and Karen Heslip.

Rory and Megan seem determined to hold on to their title and it will take a very strong pairing to beat them.

‘Champion Golfer 2014’ will be Dean or Kevin

The final of the Matchplay Championship will pit Dean Nicoletti against Kevin McKay.

In the semi-finals, Dean beat Seamus McGrath 2 and 1 while Kevin defeated Barry Casey 3 and 2.

The final will be a classic, that’s for sure.

Bobby and Brian are top scorers at Tandragee

Round 9 of the Mid-Ulster Senior Alliance was played at Tandragee last Wednesday. Banbridge, under the captaincy of Dougie Stevenson, have their eye on a podium finish. They remain in contention after a really good performance at Tandragee.

Brian Mulholland and Bobby Geddis were the two top scorers for Banbridge with 38 points each.

Peter Hillen scored a steady 34 points and the fourth best score came from John Hanna, with 28 points. A team total of 138 should keep Banbridge in among the leaders.

The other four players for Banbridge were Merton McDowell, William McCandless, Patrick McAleenan and Dougie Stevenson.

The grand finale, round 10, will be played at Portadown on Wednesday 17th September. That will be an exciting day, no matter what happens.