Wheelers’ team see off the competition at TVR event

It was time for combat last week in this trial blue ribbon event, organised to close out the season with an element of fun yet friendly club rivalry.

On the night 36 riders were to take part, formed up in nine teams of four men, representing three clubs. Each team would complete three laps of a 5.2 mile circuit with the total therefore 15.6 miles or combined 46.8 miles for each club.

Taking part in this event, which may become one of many regular fixtures in the future were Apollo CC, West Down Wheelers and the host club Team Vision Racing.

The first of the three laps opened with each team holding positions, though already two teams were applying the pressure. On lap one WDW team 1 under the leadership of Paul Wilkinson took the fastest lap with 11.53, followed by TVR team one under Davey McKnight with a time of 12.04 having lost a rider after only 2.5 miles.

Lap two had saw most teams post consistent times, though a reversal of positions at the top, saw TVR team 1 taking back six seconds of the 11 lost on lap one to WDW team 1.

Further down WDW team two and Apollo team three were locked in a similar battle with only three seconds separating the teams after 10.4 miles.

Lap three in this three lap test was the fastest of the three laps overall with six of the nine teams posting fastest laps. So as the teams one by one came to the line to finish, it was a quick warm down before teams tentitively looked on at the results, with expectation.

Quickest lap of the night was recorded by WDW team 1 with a time of 11.51. Fastest team on the night with a margin of 13 secs over the second fastest was WDW team 1.

This was a strong performance by a hotly favored team of renowned trialists, whom were pushed hard all the way, by the three men of TVR’s team 1.

After a combined 45.6 miles per club only 57 secs separated the teams.

In third place TVR had a combined time of 1 hr 54 mins and 7 secs.

In second Apollo had a combined time of 1 hr 53 mins and 36 secs with the winners WDW with a club time of 1 hr 53 mins and 10 secs.