Success for Matthew and Gareth at Garvagh Forest MTB Race

Garvagh, was the location for Round 5 of the Irish Mountain Bike Cross-Country National Point Seri Round 4 of the regional Ulster Cross-country (XC) series (NPS), hosted by Carn Wheelers.

Banbridge riders performed to their usual high standards with a couple of wins to their credit.

In the Under 16s David Conroy (Donnybrook Landscapes) and Banbridge CC’s Cameron McIntyre were neck and neck for this race with David just keeping ahead of Cameron on the sprint finish.

However, Shannon Buller (Banbridge CC) finished ahead of Niamh Skelly (Carn Wheelers) the Girls U16 win.

In the Senior race Banbridge’s Matthew Adair and Gareth McKee (Chain Reaction) claimed first and third places with Matthew leading from start to finish and Gareth just being overhauled on the final lap.

In the Juniors race Banbridge CC’s rising star James Curry dominated the 4 lap race keeping well ahead of second place Daniel Brickenden (Epic MTB). James continues to show excellent form on road and trail.

Fusco Cup Time Trial

Damp dismal conditions greeted the 15 riders who signed on for this 25 mile time trial on Wednesday evening on the tough Castlewellan Rd course.

However, the light winds helped most riders to improve their times of a fortnight ago. The Fusco Cup goes to the Banbridge CC rider with the fastest actual time on the night.

Our three welcome visitors – Declan Mulholland, John Heveran (both Clan Eireann CC) and John Clyde (West Down Wheelers) posted the fastest times with Declan recording an outstanding 56.54. However, our own Kevin Wilson continued his impressive form against the clock this season with an excellent 60.30 to win the cup.

An evergreen Phil Beattie was runner up on 64.05 with Adrian Finnegan (65.46) completing the top three. Worth mentioning was Andy Beattie (65.56) who continues to improve with every outing and a determined Ewan Anderson who completed the course despite having to change a punctured tyre.

Times were as follows:

Declan Mulholland (visitor) 56.54, John Heverin (visitor) 57.01, John Clyde (visitor) 60.28, Kevin Wilson 60.30, Phil Beattie 64.05, Adrian Finnegan 65.46, Andy Beattie 65.56, Nathan Sturrock 66.10, David Lavery 67.06, Paul McGuckin 68.55, Malcolm Jenkins 69.20, Jon Buller 74.58, Paul Anderson 79.12, Ewan Anderson 79.20, Johnny Lyons 79.40.