Sean edges out two-times winner to seal success as Paul tops the Wheelers’ scores

editorial image

Clann Eireann rider John Heverin narrowly missed out on a third successive Eric Maxwell Memorial victory last week as Sean McIntyre from the Shelbourne Club, Portadown, stole the victory.

He finished just eight seconds clear of the rider who had won the event, organised by the West Down Wheelers, in the last two years. The 10 mile time trial was held on the Warrenpoint Road circuit last week.

Sean McIntyre was a new winner in Wheelers’ events while Paul Vaughan from Donegal took third.

The highest placed Wheeler was Paul Wilkinson, who took a superb fourth with a personal best time of 21:04. His team mates in the Wheelers didn’t disappoint either and all finished in superb times.

John Clyde posted 22:18, Mark Alexander 22:48, Will Maxwell 23:04 while Matthew McKinistry posted a personal best time of 23:22. He was particularly delighted with his effort after his spill in the West Down GP.

Alastir McCourt finished with a good time of 23:27 and Andrew Hodgen had a great time of 24:44, his fastest time in a 10 mile event to date. Well done goes to all the boys, you did the West Down Wheelers proud.

Special thanks must go to Derek Gamble for erecting the signs and time-keeping, Billy Maxwell for pushing off the riders, Eddie and Emily Cantley for marking the result board, the marshalls Clive Adamson John Kernaghan, Bug for the splendid job at the at the Newry roundabout, the PSNI who did a splendid job at the Newry roundabout to help make the TT one of the best ever and finally to Barbara Stoops for handing over the prizes.

Leading TIMES

1 S McIntyre 20.29

2J Heverin 20.38

3 P Vaughan. 20.50

4 P Wilkinson. 21.04

5 I Robinson 21.06

6 D. Woods. 21.10

West Down Wheelers Times

P Wilkinson 21.04

J Clyde 22.18

M. Alexander 22.48

W Maxwell. 23.04

M McKinistry 23.22

A McCourt 23.27

A Hodgen 24.44