Paul Anderson wins the John Beggs Trophy with a battling display

Paul Anderson, the winner of the John Beggs Trophy.
Paul Anderson, the winner of the John Beggs Trophy.
Share this article

The Castlewellan Road was once again the venue last Wednesday evening for the latest in the series of 25 mile time trials organised by Banbridge CC.

The John Beggs Trophy was at stake and is awarded on a handicapped basis to the rider with the best net time.

As usual, a 10 mile TT was available for under 16’s and those who didn’t fancy the torture of the longer event.

A total of 22 riders signed on with 15 opting for the 25 including welcome visitors Davy McKnight from TVR John Clyde from West Down Wheelers. Both riders posted superb times with John breaking the magical hour for the first time ever on 59.47 and Davy completing a superb ride on this difficult course with a 58.58.

The club rivalry between the two Kevins was rekindled with Kevin McAlinden riding his first time trial for a month and Kevin Wilson hoping to get close to the hour after his 60.30 last time out. However, slightly less benign conditions on the night saw Kevin Wilson’s time slip back to 61.47 but he still had a minute in hand over Kevin McAlinden (62.48) to claim fastest ride by a Banbridge CC rider on the night.

Adrian Finnegan continued his recent good form with 64.56 good enough for 3rd fastest. Chris McCann piloted visually disabled Diane White- the recent silver medallist at the Nationals- to an excellent 70.16 considering the hilly course and Chris’s inexperience riding tandems.

When adjusted for handicap the John Beggs Trophy was won by a battling Paul Anderson who never fails to contest each event and on this occasion reduced his target time by over three minutes. Nathan Sturroch was runner up and Adrian Finnegan took 3rd place.

Of the 7 riders in the 10 mile TT James Curry stood out with a 23.37 while Freida Brown’s 26.53 represents continued progress for our top lady rider. Enda McDaid was a welcome visitor from Apollo CC.

Times as follows:

25mile TT

Kevin Wilson 61.47; Kevin McAlinden 62.48; Adrian Finnegan 64.56; Nathan Sturrock 66.12; David Lavery 66.48; Chris Burns 66.51; Ewan Anderson 66.59; Paul McGuckin 69.11; Neil McAllister 69.52; McCann / White 70.16; Malcolm Jenkins 71.01; Paul Anderson 75.55; Gareth Rogers 76.28; John Clyde 59.47 (West Down Wheelers); Davy McKnight 58.58 (TVR).

10 mile TT -

James Curry 23.37; Cameron McIntyre 25.18; John Buller 26.05; Freida Brown 26.53; Stephen Teggart 27.13; Mark Buller 31.39; Enda McDaid 25.39 (Apollo).