Paul and Gary lead the race

THE season has just started but the race is already on for the title of Golfer of the Year.

Paul Simpson and Gary McCartney are joint leaders with 200 points each.

Philip Mallon is in third place with 170 points.

Garreth Moody is fourth with 164 points.

Derek Crory is fifth with 160 points.

It’s a long way until September when the winner will be finalised.

I wonder if any of these five players are still in contention.