Matthew the winner at Banbridge CC’s Annaclone race

Matthew Teggart winning at Annaclone.
Matthew Teggart winning at Annaclone.

There was a good turnout with a total of 20 club riders and three visitors for Banbridge Cycling Club’s race at the Annaclone circuit on Wednesday June 17.

Matthew Teggart was trimphant as he crossed the line in first place.

Riders were blessed with a warm evening and light winds making for ideal racing conditions on the circuit which started at the Hawthorne Bar.

The route initially heads west toward Banbridge on the Glebe Road and then turns south at the first junction and into Annaclone.

A sustained hill starting at the GAA club usually separates the riders before turning left again at May’s Corner and heading for Katesbridge with the final turn just before the bridge and heading along Ardbrinn Road. The route was three laps totalling 25 miles.

The groups were dispatched from the start line over a period of nine minutes and riders were catagorised as follows: Group 1 had 5 riders; Group 2 had 4 riders; Group 3 had 8 riders; Group 4 had 6 riders.

Results are: 1 Matthew Teggart; 2 James Curry; 3 Cathel Clarke; 4 Joe Penny; 5 Joe Penny; 6 Nathen Sturrock; 7 Dan Purdy; 8 Kevin Wilson; 9 Stephen Teggart; 10 Brian Curran; 11 Ewan Anderson; 12 Ian Cochrane; 13 David Lavery; 14 Chris McCann; 15 Chris Burns; 16 James Gillespie; 17 Paul Anderson; 18 Gareth Hillen; 19 Jon Runciman; 20 Charlie Glover; 21 Leslie Creighton.