Lady Captain Sylvia hands over prizes to members

Members of the ladies section of Lisburn Golf Club who received prizes during the month of September.
Members of the ladies section of Lisburn Golf Club who received prizes during the month of September.

The Lady Captain of Lisburn Golf Club, Mrs Sylvia McKelvey, welcomed the lady members and sponsors to the September prize giving.

The PGA Tankard competition was sponsored by Freda Douglas, Daphne Jones and Liz McQuoid and the ladies competed for the honours on July 30.

Winner of section A was Laura Grant with a terrific nett 67, followed by Carol McBratney with a 70 and Mary Parker who scored 73.

Section B was won by Lynda Dickson who pipped Noeni Bryars on the better back nine, both of them scoring 72, with third place going to Hazel Brown on 76.

The best gross prize went to Margaret Rosbotham with the nine hole competition won by Fionnuala Kane.

Unfortunately Mr Jim Conlin from Midas Jewellers was unable to present his prizes in person but the lucky recipients were delighted with their Pandora bracelets.

First prize winner was Janice Wallace with 71 nett just nudging Daphne Bailie into second place also on 71, with Mauren Bryson in third place on 73. Bertie McDonald won the nearest the pin at the 4th hole and Elizabeth Howard took the nine hole competition honours.

The monthly stroke competition was won by Hazel Brown, following up her win at President’s Day with a super score of 68 nett. In second place was Ruth Walker on 71 and the nine hole winner was May Glover.

On Tuesday 10th September the ladies competed for the Lisburn Professional’s prizes, generously donated by Stephen Hamill who also treated the ladies to coffee and cookies before their round of golf.

In first place was Emma Porter who scored a marvellous 39 points, second place went to Vivienne Walsh and third spot was taken by Ruth Walker.

Julie Robinson won the gross prize and nearest the pin went to Doreen Green with Noreen McCluskey hitting the longest drive.

The nine hole competition was won by Fionnuala Kane.

The ladies are now looking forward to their Winter League and the organisers, Noel Bryars and Freda Douglas are promising a fun filled competition.

There is a reminder to all ladies that the entry sheet closes on September 20.