Ladies section club notes

Share this article

LAST Tuesday the prizes for the 18 hole stableford competition were presented by Glennis Smith, Hilda Caughey and Sheelagh English.

Conditions were damp and the long and wet rough made it a very difficult scoring day. However, the overall winner Jane Doyle seemed to cope well, scoring a fantastic 37 points to be the overall winner.

This is particularly good scoring as Jane is a newcomer to the game having only recently taken it up.

Other winners were: Section A - Carole Quinn beating Anne Cromie and Mary Quinn on countback; Section B - Wendy Todd being Denise Nelson and Bronagh Sands on countback; Pink Ladies - Pat McCartan.

The following ladies had a two: Sally O’Hare, Jacinta Rooney and Carole Quinn.

Congratulations to all the winners and thanks the Glennis, Hilda and Sheelagh for the beautiful prizes.

Golfer of the Year points: 6, Jane Doyle; 5, Carole Quinn; 4, Wendy Todd; 3, Mary Quinn; 2, Denise Nelson; 1, Anne Cromie.

The second Open Day of the season was held on Friday July 5 and was very generously and kindly sponsored by Club Professional Jason Greenaway.

Prize winners were as follows - Overall Winner: Susan Magennis, 36 points; Gross: Mildred Hodgett, 25 gross points; Section A: Janet Forbes (visitor), 34 points; Section B: Mary Dooher, 33 points; Section C: Margaret Murphy.

The Ladies branch extend their thanks to Jason for his continued support of their Open Day.

With Lady Captain’s Day fast approaching (Saturday July 28) anyone wishing to play should please add your name to the list in the locker room. A draw will take place nearer the time.

On Sunday July 8 the Junior Cup team played host to Portstewart, and the Miele Team are in action against Rockmount on Tuesday in the quarter final of the Miele Fourball competition.