Juniors create a piece of history

ON Thursday August 16 Dunbarton Juniors created their own little bit of club history when they became the first Gilford team to win back to back Private Greens cups.

On a very wet and windy night at Belmont Bowling Club they simple blew away the challenges from Ballymena Bowling Club.

Pride of place goes to the rink skipped by James Kelly when his rink of Johnny Grey, Kenny Kelly and Martin McInerney beat former Irish international J Millar by a massive 24 shots.

This was closely followed by Clifford Dennison’s rink of Trevor Grey, Ryan McElroy and David Dennison who beat R Torrington by eight shots.

This was another great performance by all four players which had a young Ryan at the ripe old age of 13 becoming the youngest club player in a major final.

The rink of Aidan Magennis, Francie Doyle, Robbie Gough and skip Noel Wilson drew 16-16 with J Hodges and this was a great performance by this rink.

The last rink of Gordon Magennis, Norman Cunningham, Matthew Adamson and skip Fergie Larkin also drew by the same score, 16-16 with young Matthew in fine form on this rink another great performance and the cup was on the way home again.

A special mention must also go to John Dennison, Paddy Moore, Liam Magennis and Paul Adamson who all played their part - as we all know you can’t win anything with 16 players.

PRIVATE GREENS JUNIOR LEAGUE - Saturday August 18 saw the Juniors travel to Bangor to play Pickie and they came away with six of the seven points to keep in second spot behind league leaders Ballymena.

A rearranged game on Sunday at Falls Bowling Club saw the Juniors leave Belfast with another six points and with two games remaining leave the Ballymena club still in top spot but will battle to the last bowl is up the green.

IRISH FINALS - The Junior players would like to wish Fergie, James, Clifford and Tony Bell all the best in Blackrock on Friday August 30 when they play the Irish Fours semi- final which has a 9.30am start against a Dunluce rink skipped by M McKeeman, with the winners playing the final on Saturday September 1.

Good luck lads.