Eric Maxwell Memorial the D-Day for riders as they record excellent times

Jonny Cromie in action.
Jonny Cromie in action.

The 6th June proved to be a D Day for some riders as they recorded excellent times at the popular Eric Maxwell Memorial 10 mile Time Trial promoted by West Down Wheelers.

The event which is run on the Warrenpoint to Newry dual carriageway was a successful evening and was pleasantly warm.

Forty six riders turned up to race against the clock.

There was a pleasing tail wind on the way towards Newry and a slight gusty head wind on the way back towards Warrenpoint.

John Heverin, last year’s winner retained the Eric Maxwell Trophy with an excellent time of 20.11.

He was thanked by Billy Maxwell for going to the trouble of having his name engraved on the Eric Maxwell Memorial Cup, a service which the club would normally provide.

Thomas Martin of Eurocycles time of 20.31 was enough to give him second place, Sean McIntyre of Orchard continues to show his potential by coming third overall with a great 20.45.

However, Paul Wilkinson once again was the quickest West Down Wheeler with a time of 21.34, Mark Alexander has been making steady progress and clocked a great time of 22.44, another wheelers who has been improving every week is Simon Keery and his time of 23.04 certainly raised a view eyebrows.

Eve Mc Crystal of the Garda Cycling Club made the journey north to compete in this event and recorded an excellent 22.12 and sixteenth overall.

Michael Murray of Clann Eireann proves that being a new daddy is the way to go as he came back into the sport with a bang to record a 21.59 on the night.

J. Heverin 20.11 Clann Eireann.

T. Martin 20.31 Eurocycles.

S. McIntyre 20.45 Shelborne/ Orchard Wheelers.

P. Wilkinson 21.34 West Down Wheelers

M. Alexander 22.44 West Down Wheelers

S. Keery 23.04 West Down Wheelers

J. Kernaghan 23.15 West Down Wheelers

C. Adamson 23.28 West Down Wheelers

D. Cartmill 23.46 West Down Wheelers

A. McCourt 24.02 West Down Wheelers

J. Cromie 25.05 West Down Wheelers