Disappointment for Millpark as respects are paid to Spla

Share this article

It is almost 14 years since Laurence Bramall held aloft the Junior Cup for Millpark.

Unfortunately current skipper Jason Maxwell will not be repeating Spla’s feat in the 2013 season, following a limp display in the competition against Waringstown II XI.

A minute’s silence for the highly regarded former captain was held before the game, but disappointingly it did not inspire the Tullylish men, who were batting first.

Wickets fell thick and fast at the top of the order, which has been misfiring, as McCrum, Talbot and Martin mustered just five runs between them.

Stu McCart, who has been in great form lately played fluently for a satisfying 36, while Glover and Ryan McCart made it into the teens.

Ryan McCart, wicketkeeper John Simpson and James Wright then fell in consecutive deliveries to give the Lyness, who bowled aggressively from the Banbridge end, a hat trick.

The failure of the top order, combined with this hat trick ripped the heart out of the Millpark effort.

It was left to skipper Jason Maxwell, and Johnny Breen, the only 1999 Junior Cup winner playing, to drag the total to a underwhelming 117.

Waringstown went about their run chase in sedate fashion.

While rarely in trouble, the run rate was very slow. This was partly due to some good tight bowling, but also to the approach Waringstown took. They were not in a hurry, they were just there to get over the line.

A series of wickets did fall to Glover (2-20) who bowled cannily as usual, and James Wright (3-19) who swung the ball and bowled very accurately.

In truth however, Millpark were flattered that it took almost 46 overs for Waringstown to reach their target.