Ballyvarley power through

Action from Ballyvarley v Ballygalget
Action from Ballyvarley v Ballygalget
Share this article

Ballyvarley’s power and energy blew Ballygalget away in a first half scoring blitz as they cantered to a seventeen point victory and a rare league double over the Ards side.

The locals got off to a whirlwind start and in the opening 15 minutes they raced effortlessly into a ten point lead.

Points from Patrick Mackin, Thomas Lennon and James McGrath set the tone for the rest of the night and it wasn’t long before James McGrath rose to flick home the opening goal and set the Reds firmly on the path to victory.

Four further points followed from Paul O’Neill before Ballygalget managed to raise a flag but that simply inspired the Reds to further effort as they bore down on the visitor’s goal.

Jamie Murray rose high to bat down a Paul O’Neill cross to the back of the net and not too long after wards O’Neill himself blasted a 21 yard free to the back of the net to widen the gulf between the two sides.

It was just all too easy for the home side and seven further points from Tony Hegarty, Colm O’Neill, Patrick Mackin and Paul O’Neill (4) had this game done and dusted long before Ballygalget tagged on three late points to add some respectability to the half time score-line.

The second half turned into something of a non-event as Ballyvarley were content to rest on their laurels.

Ballyvarley’s energy levels dropped considerably and over the next half hour they seemed to be quite content to add on a bare four points to their scoring tally through frees from Paul O’Neill and Tony Hegarty and two from play through Rory McShane and James McGrath.

Ballygalget were probably glad of the respite but their young side seemed to be incapable of benefitting much from the Reds lack of motivation and they were only able to add on six further points to their tally in a lack lustre second half.

TEAM: David Lavery; James McConville, Niall Higgins, Peter McConville; Michael McKay, Sean Kennedy, Ciaran Connolly; Thomas Lennon(0-1), Paul O’Neill(1-9); Tony Hegarty(0-2), Patrick Mackin(0-2), Jamie Murray(1-0); Chris Lennon , James McGrath(1-2), Colm O’Neill(0-1).

Subs: Maurice McGrath, Jonathan Lennon, Rory McShane(0-1), Philip Jordan