McCartan snatches two points for Tullylish

Tullylish went right to the wire on Friday evening only just snatching 2 vital League points within seconds of the whistle blow with Kevin McCartan taking the final point against Glenn.

Converting free kicks was a vital component of this game and Shannon Drainey and Pete Quinn kept Tullylish afloat in the first half with a score each. Glen were on home ground and tested Tullylish at every position. In attack, Glen backs were unable to mark an elusive Chris McGovern, who snatched points from impossible angles. Young Conor Magee ran tirelessly off the ball and had his sights well set on the posts taking a point in the first half to put the home side under pressure.

Glen fought back as expected and each time they scored put in a determined effort to keep the ball. They took three points in a row to take a one point lead at half time, 0-6 to 0-5.

Chris Magee, Barry Priestly and Fiontain ODowd were supportive and strong in the back line and the running half backs Michael McCartan, Gareth Johnston and Niall Donnelly were forging through the park creating opportunities for the Tullylish shooters. Shannon Drainey settled Tullylish with the first point of the second half to bring the game to a draw and Chris McGovern followed with another point to take the lead. Glenn answered with toe to toe points and went two points ahead with five minutes left.

Gareth Johnston plucked a high ball out of the air from a Glenn kickout and found Seamus OHare in space on the wing. OHare weaved deftly past the Glen defender and put the ball over the bar to keep his side in contention. Chris McGovern attacked the ensuing kickout and sent the ball over the bar, once again to create a draw. The win was there for the taking. Tullylish defended all over the park. Michael McCartan intercepted a loose ball and found Chris McGovern in what looked like an impossible scoring position.

Not so and McGovern found the posts and the win for Tullylish 0-13 to 0-12.

Tullylish Stephen OHare, Chris Magee, Barry Priestly, Fiontain ODowd, Michael McCartan, Gareth Johnston, Niall Donnelly, Patrick McKivergan, Davy Corbett, Seamus OHare, Shannon Drainey, Kevin McCartan, Chris McGovern, Pete Quinn, Conor Magee, Kevin Murphy