Magnificent Seven recognised at Academy awards

BANBRIDGE Academy's hockey players were recognised at the Magnificent Seven Evening at the school on Thursday May 6.

Monday, 17th May 2010, 2:09 pm
Updated Monday, 17th May 2010, 3:11 pm

Guest speaker was Ireland senior mens coach Mr Paul Revington while other guests included Ian Curran (Belmont Hotel - sponsors) Yvonne Jackson (Shoefair Sports) and David Johnston (Canterburry) as well as Mr Eugene Magee, President of Banbridge Hockey Club.

AWARD WINNERS: First XI Player Of The Year - Philip Brown; First XI Most Improved - Owen Magee; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Phillip Doyle.

Second XI Player Of The Year - Ben Wilson; Second XI Most Improved - Sam Topping; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Andrew Dickson.

Colts Player Of Ther Year - James Mateer; Colts Most Improved; Ryan Warren; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Stuart Scott.

U15 Player Of The Year - Thomas Sturgeon; U15 Most Improved - David Montgomery; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Jonathon Gregson.

U14 Player Of The Year - Clarke Neville; U14 Most Improved - Andrew Ferguson; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Matthew Warnock.

U13 Player Of The Year - Johnny McKee; U13 Most Improved - Ben Knox; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Matthew Hurst.

U12 Player Of The Year - Andrew Bennington; U12 Most Improved - Mark Adair; Shoefair Trainer Of The Year - Sam Green.

Senior Hot Shot Award - Stephen Dowds (First XI) - 43 goals.

Junior Hot Shot Award - Jonny McKee (U13, U14, U15) - 41 goals.

The Oxford Cup for Hockey Dedication, presented By Roveroxford Hockey Club, was awarded to Thomas Sturgeon for his excellent leadership, dedication and achievement this season.

The Academy ‘Hockey’s Greatest’ prize went to Michael Duggan for outstanding contribution to all things associated with hockey on and off the field. He was awarded the Clubman Of The Year award by the senior Irish coach, Mr Paul Revington.