It's President's Prize time once again

THE President's Prize Fourball Betterball is one of the most popular competitions of the golfing year.

Monday, 17th May 2010, 10:09 am
Updated Monday, 17th May 2010, 3:22 pm

This time round a total of 71 pairs have entered and it would take a brave man to predict the winners.

I got it right last season when I tipped Colin Wilton and Cathal McNiff to win. Could they repeat their success? They could, but it would be asking a lot.

My top ten pairings this year are as follows:

Colin Wilton and Dr. Cathal McNiff; Conor Campbell and Eugene Weir; David Wilton and Stephen Wilton; Harry Shannon and Jonathan Shannon; Gary McCartney and Keith Steenson; Trevor Mulholland and Gareth McGregor; Cecil Johnston and Martin McAleenan; Timothy Beattie and Shane Crossan; Shane Bell and Roy Sipson; Neville Kerr and Jonathan Kerr.

If I had to pick one pair to win, I would opt for Trevor Mulholland and Gareth McGregor. It’s only a hunch, but I reckon they could do it.

Let the battles commence!