Heverin hoovers up at Wheelers’ Maxwell Memorial

JOHN Heverin (Clann Éireann CC) continued his fine time trialing form this season in the lead up to the Veteran National Championships with a win in the West Down Wheelers Eric Maxwell Memorial on Thursday night at Warrenpoint.  

Heverin was one of three riders to break inside 21 minutes with a 20.23.

Ivan Robinson of Ards was second in a time of 20.46 with Stuart Bennett (Phoenix CC) taking third place with a time of 20.59.

World Championship bronze medalist on the track, Caroline Ryan (Garda CC) put her recent stint at altitude to good use to finish seventh overall and top woman, stopping the clock on 21.38.

Eric Maxwell Memorial TT Results, Warrenpoint, 09/08/12: 1. J Heverin Clann Eireann 20.23; 2. I Robinson Ards CC 20.46; 3. S Bennett Phoenix 20.59; 4. R Stewart TVR 21.18; 5. G McCabe Cuchulainn CC  21.20; 6. W Larmour East Antrim CC 21.20; 7. C Ryan Garda CC 21.38; 8. M McCorry Cuchulainn CC 21.44; 9. D McKnight TVR 21.59; 10. D Woods NW 22.01; 11. P Tomany Cuchulainn CC 22.08; 12. D Heagney East Tyrone 22.18; 13. C Grimes Clann Eireann 22.35; 14. J Clyde Dromara CC 22.37; 15. P Withers West Tyrone 22.41; 16. B McCourt Northern CC 22.47, P McConville Newry Wheelers 22.47; 18. J McAuley Apollo 22.58; 19. W Maxwell West Down 23.09; 20. K McAlinden Banbridge CC 23.17; 21. D McKinley Newry Wheelers 23.28; 22. J McLaughlin Island Wheelers 23.32; 23. D Cartmill West Down 23.40; 24. C Adamson West Down 23.41; 25. M Alexander West Down 23.41; 26. M Hunter Dromara CC 23.43; 27. N Seffen Harps CC 23.43; 28. J Marty Newry Wheelers 23.45; 29. H Martin Clann Eireann 23.55; 30. A Finnegan Banbridge CC 24.02; 31. D Lynas West Down 24.08; 32. C Burns Banbridge CC 24.08; 33. J Graham Orchard 24.08; 34. D Cormican Newry Wheelers 24.13; 35. P Carlisle Banbridge CC 24.28; 36. W McNeill Clann Eireann 24.36; 37. P Ormrod IVCA 24.44; 38. J Cromie West Down 24.45; 39. R Moore Banbridge CC 24.52; 40. G McCann Apollo 24.57; 41. S Keery West Down 24.59; 42. C Wilson Bikeworks 25.16; 43. A McCourt West Down 25.22; 44. M McKinstry West Down 25.22; 45. R Withers West Tyrone 25.31; 46. I Cochraine Banbridge CC 25.34; 47. K Wells West Down 25.43; 48. P McKinstry West Down 25.45; 49. B Monaghan Dromara CC 25.54; 50. A McCann Apollo 26.59; 51. S O’Neil Island Wheelers 27.39; 52. Darrell Erwin UHA 32.19 (Hand cyclist).

- Last Tuesday night 28 riders turned up at Katesbridge to take part in the last round of the Australian Pursuit for the John Maxwell Memorial Cup.

The 28 were split into five groups. The riders had to go to the Castlewellan roundabout and back with the big long drag from Ballyward to top of the horseshoe bend and then having to come back up another even tougher drag from Castlewellan to the top of the horseshoe bend again.

This was a tough race for all involved but also a very enjoyable one. First off went D.Cantly, S.Cantly, and N.Keery; four minutes later went P.McKinstry, J.Cromie, J.Priestly (U14), S.Keery, K.Wells; a further three-and-a-half minutes later went G.Rodgers, M.Winters (both Banbridge CC), A.Priestly, A.McCourt, M.McKinstry, D.Lynes B.Hanna, M.McAulty (Dromara CC) and B.Doyle. Then another two minutes later, making it nine-and-a-half from scratch to limit, went P.Wilkinson, D.McKnight (TVR), C. Adamson, A.Walker, M.McKnight (TVR), P.Savage, M.Alexander, D. Cartmill, N.Seffen (Harps CC), D.White (TVR), and J.Kernaghan.

Once again nothing really changed but  the riders were working hard to keep the group behind from catching them but the long drag from Ballyward sapped them and when they hit the drag back up to horseshoe bend from Castlewellan it started to change.

Some riders began to lose contact with their groups but as they were getting caught some managed to hang on as it was mostly downhill for a few miles. 

Coming to Moneyslane the leaders were caught and a big group formed - with some riders panicking and trying to get into a good position it was hairy at times.

At Closkett TVR rider D McKnight took off to open a good gap but coming up to the Katesbridge straight and the finish in view they all came together and in the big sprint to the line Ally Walker took a very good win with J.Kernaghan second, M.Alexander third and D.Lynas fourth with M.McKinstry and B.Hanna following them in.

This again was a very good race with a good finish. Thanks goes to those who turned up to help including Berty and Barbara Wilkinson, V. McAfee (Bug), R. Moffatt, M.Maxwell and R. Hanna.

Once again I’m pleased to say how well the new riders performed - B.Hanna, A.McCourt, K. Wells, A.Priestly, D. Lynas,and M. McKinstry but I can’t leave out mother and son D. and S. Cantly who rode well after not having raced for a few weeks.

Next week’s race is a circuit TT starting on the Rathfriland Road via the Diamond, Katesbridge, McCoy’s, Tanvalley and finishing on the bridge over the carriageway.

The new batch of club clothing should be here any day while club runs will continue on Saturday morning leaving Tesco at 9am - all Wheelers are welcome.