Eight retain hopes of Fourball Matchplay win

The final of the Fourball Matchplay Championship will be the highlight of Felix Duffy’s President’s Day on Saturday the 12th of September.

Sunday, 16th August 2015, 2:38 pm

There are only eight pairs remaining in the competition after the completion of round three.

The results of round three are as follows:

Adam McGregor and Matthew Mallon beat Trevor Mulholland and Jim Gracey two and one.

John Gallagher and Gavin Greer beat Ian Craven and Norman Robb 3 and 1.

Mark Carson and Rory Madeley beat David and Jamie Thompson 5 and 4.

Neil Madeley and Kenny Whan beat Eugene Weir and Seamus Rooney 3 and 1.

Sean McGreevey and Eamon McAnarney beat Dennis Lockhart and James Bryson 2 up.

Barry Tumilty and Rory Leonard beat Aaron Buchanan and Joe McGivern 2 and 1.

Dennis Watt and Colin McKinney beat Terry Malcolmson and Tom Mulholland 2 and 1.

Kenny Stevenson and Jim Mallon beat Philip Strong and Roy Rankin.

Mark Carson and Rory Madeley are the only seeded players left in the competition.

They face a formidable pairing in the quarterfinal, Neil Madeley and Kenny Whan.

Neil and Kenny are cock-a-hoop after knocking out one of the top seeds, Seamus Rooney and Eugene Weir.

It’s all getting very interesting.