Village do enough to see off nine-man Lower Maze

AT the beginning of the first half, the early possession came from Lower Maze. Seapatrick were then forced to make a change with Damien McParland being taken off for Aaron Buchanan through injury.

Saturday, 10th November 2012, 8:00 am

From a Lower Maze corner in the 11th minute Paul McGrath made a great save to deny the home side the first goal. However Lower Maze did open the scoring from a corner in the 13th minute.

This sparked the Village to life with their first real chance coming from Sean McGarry in the 15th from 15 yards out but it went wide.

With the pressure building, Stuart Sinnamon and Ryan Graham had shots on target saved for Seapatrick in the 22 minute.

The Village were then rewarded a penalty in the twenty four minute from Stuart Sinnamon who was brought down by the goalie. The penalty was hit by Andrew Chambers but it was well saved by the Lower Maze goalie.

Stuart Sinnamon then won a free kick in the 32nd minute which was hit wide by Keelin Doyle.

The Village then open their account in the 37th minute by Sean McGarry, with his first goal of the season. Seapatrick ended the first half stronger but failed to make any of their chances count and the sides went in at half time with the score 1-1.

On the 50th minute Seapatrick had a great chance with Ryan Graham making the run into the Lower Maze box.

After a melee, Lower Maze found themselves down to 10 men, then nine just a few minutes later through a late tackle on Andrew Chambers.

This allowed the Village to capitalize in possession which turned into a second goal through a chipped finish by Keelin Doyle, who also got this first goal of the season and worked endlessly.

The Village kept on pressing with Ryan Graham & Stuart Sinnamon hitting close to the target later on in the game.

Finally, Seapatrick got their third and final goal on the 75th minute by Stuart Sinnamon who took it around the goalie to score.

The Village had great fighting spirit after going a goal down in the first half and showed their resilience and character to earn three points with a good comeback.

Team: Paul McGrath, Warren Buchanan, Phillip Davidson, Dean Lennon, Damien McParland, Sean McGarry, Mark Watt, Keelan Doyle, Andrew Chambers, Stuart Sinnamon. Subs: - Aaron Buchanan, Tony McCreanor, Nigel Watt.