Ten of the best

RATHFRILAND Swifts Reserves played host to Lurgan Utd Reserves at Iveagh Park looking to extend their unbeaten league form.

Saturday, 29th September 2012, 9:00 am

From the early minutes the home side were promising in attack seeking to exploit the Lurgan defence at every opportunity.

A well struck free kick by Megaw left the Lurgan keeper sprawling only to see the ball nestle in the net behind him.

Rathfriland had a taste for goal and set out to satisfy this hunger, a calmly dispatched penalty from Maginn doubled the lead before two goals in quick succession from Power made it 4-0, his first a left footed cross which evaded the keeper at the back post and his second a much more deliberate emphatic strike from 30 yards into the top corner.

Captain James Lawson saw the ball fall kindly following pressure from a corner and deftly lifted the ball around the keeper into the net.

Rathfriland made it six when Mackin timed his run to perfection and neatly slipped the ball under the advancing Lurgan keeper.

Gary O’Reilly was then rewarded for pressure in the front line winning the ball and rounding the keeper to stroll to the goal line and roll the ball over for number seven.

Half time brought a welcome break for the visitor’s but in truth it interrupted the Rathfriland rhythm and with it the flow of goals.

The home-side did eventually convert again when good approach play from Heslip allowed him space to find O’Reilly who struck well to score at the near post.

Number nine arrived five minutes from full time when Lawson made a powerful run down the right and his pinpoint cross was glanced by Mackin into the far corner. Jordan Mark made it a perfect 10 with a thunderous strike just inside the area following a corner.

Rathfriland can be proud of their efforts, the football on display was impressive at times and the desire to work as a team was clear for all to see.

A reverse of the same fixture on Saturday will give Lurgan an instant chance for revenge so Rathfriland will need to prepare well in order to maintain their unbeaten record.

Team: Derek Curran, Andy Scott, James Lawson, Keith Megaw, Liam McGivern, Niall Maginn, Kyle Heslip, Conan Power, Mark Patterson, Lee Mackin, Gary O’Reilly.

Subs: Colm McComish, Daryl O’Reilly, Jordan Mark, Norman Quinn, Connell Jackson.