Slane hold awards dinner

MONEYSLANE Football Club held their 29th Annual Awards and Dinner Dance last Friday night in Banbridge Orange Hall and had a great turn out of supporters and members.

Saturday, 19th May 2012, 9:00 am

Lenny Blakely opened the night by asking the Chairman Brian Ervine to address the floor. Brian firstly thanked all the managers, coaching staff and all the teams for their commitment during the season.

Brian congratulated First Team manager Glen Moffett and his assistant Neil McCullough on a very respectable first season in the Mid-Ulster Intermediate ‘B’ Division.

Brian went on to thank Martyn Hanna and his Assistant David Cromie for their hard work with the Reserves and commended them on reaching the semi-final of the O’Hare Cup and finishing fourth in the Mid-Ulster Reserve Three Division.

He also thanked the Manager of the Third Team David McCullough and his assistant Gary Hanna for their hard work over the season performing creditably during their first season in Division Three of the Newcastle League.

Brian stated that even though the teams didn’t win any trophies on the pitch this season, the Club was a massive winner off the pitch with the development of our new full size 60x100 metre sand carpet pitch and new 5-a-side 3g Training Pitch which will open in a few weeks time.

He stated that this was not achieved without the hard work, determination and commitment of all the dedicated Committee members. He had a special mention for the people who helped the Club during this process. Paul Davidson, Sport N.I., Ben Corr, Gillian Dewart, Sarah Porter, and Banbridge District Council, John Heenan and Clive Richardson Ltd, Daly O’Neill and Associates Architects, John O’Neill and Richard Convery of the Ulster Bank Rathfriland.

Brian thanked all the sponsors for their invaluable support over the season and gave a sincere thanks to all the Standing Order Scheme members, without whose support our project would not have been possible.

On a personal note Brian thanked all his hard working Committee members who supported him during the past season.

He also thanked the Fundraising Team - Geoff, Lenny, Roy, Neil, Colin and Noel for their hard work organising the Awards Night and thanked Banbridge Orange District for the use of their great Hall. Thanks also went to Big ‘C’ and Colly’s Bistro for their dedication over the season serving up hot food at our home matches. He thanked Geoff Cochrane for organising the meal and trophies, Lenny for acting as MC and gave a special mention to Linda Gilmore and her staff for an excellent meal, and Davy Evans for providing the music. He thanked the Chairman of Banbridge Town Football Club, Andrew Cully, for the use of Crystal Park during the season.

Brian finished by saying, “ I hope I have not forgotten to thank anyone, so just in case can I thank everyone who helped make this one of the most successful years in the history of Moneyslane Football Club.”

The following Awards were then presented to the players by their Managers and the Club Chairman:

Highest Goal Scorer (First Team) - Mark Ervine – 20 goals

Players Player (First Team) - Colin Brown

Most Consistent Player (First Team) – Lee Feeney

Managers Player (First Team) – Thomas Lockhart

Highest Goal Scorer (Second Team) - Jonny Adair – 17 goals

Players Player (Second Team) - Robert Strain

Most Consistent Player (Second Team) –Gareth McDowell

Managers Player (Second Team) – Gareth Hamilton

Highest Goal Scorer (Third Team) - Gary Hanna – 15 goals

Players Player (Third Team) - Neil Gamble

Most Consistent (Third Team) – Joseph Porter & Kirk Stewart

Managers Player (Third Team) – Michael Corbett

The last two trophies of the night were presented to two very influential people for our Club this season. They were voted for in a secret ballot by the Committee members and revealed by Secretary Ian Johnstone.

The winners were:

Young Player of the Year - Thomas Lockhart

Club Man of the Year - Brian Ervine