Rathfriland U12’s secure last 16 spot in NIBFA Cup

Rathfriland U12's after their victory.
Rathfriland U12's after their victory.

Rathfriland Youth U12’s 4 Ridgeway Rovers U12’s 0

The U12’s match was the only Rathfriland Youth youth game to beat the frosty weather on Saturday as they hosted Belfast side Ridgeway Rovers in round 2 of the NIBFA Cup at the High School 3G.

It was the hosts who started brightly in the icy conditions with the midfield four of Ingram, Magowan, Gribben and Johnston getting into passing mode and creating a couple of half chances for frontman Kelly who hit the bar with one chance and tested the visiting keeper on the second occasion.

As the game developed some good work on the right from Fitzsimmons saw Magowan cut the ball back for the onrushing Ingram to fire a low shot past the dive of the Ridgeway keeper.

The visitors battled back into the game but the defence were superb and keeper Tumilty dealt comfortably with the visitors best efforts to ensure the home side went in one up at the break.

Rathfriland controlled the game from the start of the second half and were awarded a free kick 20 yards out 10 minutes into the half.

Dead ball expert Kelly stepped up and hit the target but the rebound off the keeper fell to Johnston, who fired left footed into the bottom right hand corner to double the advantage.

Ten minutes later the goal of the game came when centre half Darcy Burns collected the ball, carried it into the opposition half and unleashed a left foot shot into the top left corner of the net to make it three.

A fine team performance, in which all twelve players played their part, was capped when Teer pounced to round off the scoring with a trade mark cool finish.

Coach Stephen Teer said: “That was a job well done today and a proper team effort. The U12 squad can enjoy their Christmas break knowing Lisburn Youth or Hollywood FC lie in wait in the last 16.”

Team: Liam Tumilty, Alexander Fitzsimmons, Darcy Burns, Conor McCumiskey, Mark Bronte, Jordan Magowan, Thomas Ingram, Ben Johnston, Aaron Gribben, Will Kelly, Caolan Teer, Tiernan Maginn. Man of the Match – Darcy Burns.