Rangers' unbeaten Unders 11s crowned champions in Ayr

Banbridge Rangers Under 11s completed their weekend in Ayr with an unbeaten record to be crowned champions of the prestigious tournament in Scotland.

Tuesday, 12th April 2016, 2:55 pm
The Banbridge Rangers Under 11s in Ayr.

The tournament used a league format with all eight teams playing each other once over two days at 7 a side level and the young ‘Gers side came through with flying colours winning five and drawing two of their matches.

There was an entourage of 41 players, coaches, senior club members and family in Ayr for four days and it proved to be a superb experience for all involved.

In the opening game Banbridge Rangers drew 1-1 with Glenrothes with Dylan Gilchrist getting the vital goal.

Gilchrist was on fire and then scored both goals in the next game vs Lochgilphead which saw his team win 2-1.

In the third group game on Saturday Banbridge Rangers won 4-0 in a comprehensive performance against West Fife with Dylan Gilchrist scoring twice more to take his tally to five goals whilst Maddy Ireland & Calum Cull completed the scoring.

The fourth, and final, game of the day saw the Gers side break into a stride which saw them win 5-0 against Johnstone United.

Matthew Hampton scored a superb hat-trick and striker Josh Thompson scored the other two goals.

In the second day of the tournament Dylan Gilchrist scored twice to beat Blue Brazil 2-0 in the opening game.

In the next game against St Johnstone the Banbridge Rangers boys drew 1-1 with Maddy Ireland getting the goal.

In the final game vs Cambuslang Matthew Hampton scored the opener and the second by Dylan Gilchrist to win 2-0 with Gilchrist ending up as top scorer of the tournament with a remarkable eight goals in the seven matches.

Huge credit must go to coaches Ryan Gregg, Peter Gilchrist and Jeff Brady for their work with the team over the last number of years and thanks to all of the parents for their continued support and to the sponsors who helped make the trip such a success.

BRFC Squad: Aaron Knox, Daniel Brown, Harvey Simpson, Evan Anderson, Matthew Hampton, Calum Cull, Dylan Gilchrist, Maddy Ireland & Josh Thompson. Coaches: Ryan Gregg, Jeff Brady & Peter Gilchrist. Goalscorers: Dylan Gilchrist (8), Matthew Hampton (4), Maddy Ireland (2), Josh Thompson (2) & Calum Cull (1).