New members on Slane committee as awards are won

Moneyslane FC held their AGM last Tuesday June 17 at Jubilee Park and there was a very large turnout of excited members.

Saturday, 28th June 2014, 9:00 am
Attending the Media Launch of the forthcoming Manchester United Legends versus Moneyslane Footbal Cllub Select exhibition football match on 2nd August 2014 at Jubilee Park, were Margaret Ritchie MP South Down and David Simpson, MP Upper Bann, along with Brian Ervine, Moneyslane Football Club Chairman. © Photo: Gary Gardiner.

New members were welcomed on to the Club Committee for 2014-15 and they are relishing the challenge ahead.

Neil Anderson; Jimmy Bell; Gareth Bingham; Geoff Cochrane; Lucy Cowan; Brian Ervine; Wendy Ervine; Alison Hayes; Colin Jardine; Ian Johnstone; David Macauley; Joanne Malcolmson; Renick Malcolmson.

The Annual reports were given from each section of the Club.

Amazing strides once again this year both on and off Jubilee Park.

The club now are totally self sufficient at their state of the art multipurpose complex at Jubilee Park.

End of Season Awards

There was silverware to fill again this year at the Club Awards Dinner to celebrate the massive strides taken again this Year 2013-14 both on/off Jubilee Park on Friday June 20 in the Anglers Rest, Katesbridge.

Club Young Player – Jordan Fairley; Clubman – David Macauley; Supporters Club Player of the Year – Ivon Blevins; Chairman’s Shield-Ken Maginess/Steven Hayes; 1st Team Highest Goalscorer – Gregg Harrison; Managers Player – Ivon Blevins; Most Consistent – John Whitten; Players Player – Chris Kerr.

Reserves – League winners with 4 league games to spare and finalists in the O’Hara Cup. The Reserve team were presented with their impressive League Winners Medals.

Highest Goalscorer – Jordan Fairley; Managers Player – Josh McCullough; Most Consistent – Jonny Adair/Neil Bingham; Players Player – Ritchie Adamson.

Legends Highest Goalscorer – Gareth Hamilton; Managers Player – Adam Gibson; Most Consistent – Robin Butler; Players Player – Gareth Hamilton.

Massive appreciation to Geoff Cochrane, Andrew Rowan and Stephen Hanna for their expertise in organizing such a successful Awards Dinner.

United Legends match

One of the star attractions at the Moneyslane v Manchester United Legends match on Saturday 2 August will be David Healy (MBE).

Healy, the all-time leading scorer for Northern Ireland with 36 goals.

The match is being held to open Moneyslane’s Junilee Park ground.

Anyone interested in attending Moneyslane’s match against Manchester United Legends in August can purchase tickets (priced £15 each) from the following: Moneyslane FC, ­BMO Service Station (Katesbridge), ­Grahams Ice cream­ (Dromore and Rathfriland), Banbridge­ Information Centre­ (Scarva Street­), Loughbrickland­ Post Office, Loughbrickland Pharmacy­ and Mace (Dromore) and also via Paypal on the Moneyslane FC website