Lisburn League U13s grind out a result

THE Juniors U13s Lisburn League team romped to a three goal lead on Saturday morning, but in the end they had to grind out a result with a last gasp winner to snatch all three points.

In the opening 15 minutes Town began on the offensive and took the lead after five minutes when a fantastic pass from McParland found Burke in behind the defence and he made no mistake to put the Juniors one up.

McParland was involved again 10 minutes later when he managed to bundle over the line from a Fearon a corner. The remainder of the half Banbridge took their foot of the gas to let Ridgeway get a foothold in the match.

The second half began as the first ended with Town hesitant in their passing and letting Ridgeway dictate the play. New signing Daniel Moore was now introduced.

However it was McParland who was having a great game in midfield broke through on a rare attack and was upended in the penalty box. McCandless stepped up to smash home the third from the spot and put the Juniors into a comfortable lead.

However things changed very quickly and Ridgeway forced home two goals in quick succession following some sloppy Banbridge defending in their own half.

With their backs to the wall the locals then conceded a silly free on the edge of the box and Ridgeway fired a screamer of a free kick into the top corner giving McAtamney in goal no chance.

With five minutes remaining the Juniors threw caution to the wind and it was up to the ever reliable Gavin Fearon to rescue the points for the Town when he finished off a great move to the delight of the local support.

This was an indifferent performance from the Juniors after beginning the match so well. They will have to maintain their high standards for the duration of the games if they want to break into the top four of  the league this season.

Next up is bottom of the table Lower Maze next Saturday at Cheney with a 9.00am kick-off.

Team: Jamie McAtamney, Ryan Devlin, Paul Morgan, David Houston, Harry Campbell, Mark Burke, Jamie McCandless, Gavin McParland, Curtis Lee McKeever, Gavin Fearon (Captain), Ciaran Duffin, Jack Lennon, Cormac Downey, Ryan Angus, Daniel Moore