Lisburn League side back to winning ways

Banbridge Town U12s 8

Seagoe 1

FOLLOWING a heavy defeat in the Lisburn League Shield final to Portadown, Banbridge Town Juniors U12’s (Lisburn League) got back to winning ways against Seagoe in the league, at Havelock Park, on a wet and blustery Saturday morning.

Circumstances went against the team on their final day with key players missing, however the juniors showed great resilience to regroup and dispose of Seagoe 8-1 in a comprehensive victory.

Playing with the wind behind them in the first half, Gavin Fearon got the team off to a flier after ten minutes with a fine driving run down the right wing and finish to the bottom corner.

Ryan Angus soon made it two, muscling his way behind the defence to slot the ball past the on rushing keeper.

Banbridge tried to play all the football in difficult conditions and as pressure mounted on the Seagoe defence Ben Davis got his sides third and then fourth following some good interplay between McKinstry and Fearon.

Just before half time Ryan Angus got his second powering onto a long ball over top and the keeper saved well, but Angus managed to finish the rebound.

Banbridge made some changes to the team after half time and David Barr soon got onto the score sheet finishing well after a powerful run down the flank.

Ben Davis then managed to break through from midfield and complete his first hat trick for his new club.

The same player was then brought down in the box and his resulting penalty was well saved by the Seagoe keeper however Barr was on hand to finish well with the rebound for his sides eighth goal.

On the final whistle Seagoe managed a late consolation to finish the game 8–1.

A great overall team performance from the juniors from the goalkeeper and back four right through to the array of subs that were used. A stiffer test awaits though next week against Sunnyside where another three points could move the juniors up into the top six of the league once again at the midway stage of the season.

Team: Greg Kelso, David Barr, Neil Dillon, Jamie McCandless, Harry Campbell, Gavin Fearon, Danny McKinstry, Jamie McAtamney, Ryan Angus, Ciaran Duffin, Jack Lennon, Ryan Devlin, Ben Davis, Harry Campbell.