Four named in final County Down Milk Cup squads

FOUR footballers have been selected for the Premier and Junior County Down Milk Cup squads.

Sunday, 15th July 2012, 9:00 am

Luke McAnespie and Adam Salley from Banbridge, along with Jonathan Walsh from Dromore, have been named in the Junior squad while Banbridge’s Stuart Mallen has been included in the Premier squad.

The squads are nearing the end of their preparations ahead of the competition that will take place from July 21-26.

County Down’s Juniors kick-off the competition against multiple-winners Everton, in what is sure to be a terrific opening challenge at Parkway in Comber on Saturday, 21st July. Later that same day, the County Down Premier team go head-to-head with Etoile Lusitana from Senegal - champions in 2010.

Both squads then depart for the North Coast for the remainder of the Milk Cup. The official opening ceremony takes place on Sunday July 22 with the tournament concluding on Thursday July 26 in advance of the start of the London Olympics.

Multi-match tickets for the Northern Ireland Milk Cup are currently on sale. The tickets, available directly through the website at, enable fans to gain access to all the matches at seven enclosed venues for a flat fee, and include access to Finals Night at Ballymena Showgrounds. The Adult tickets are priced at £25 and Youth (Under 16) tickets are £10.

Junior squad: Callum Byers (Dundonald), Dalton Tate (Ballynahinch), Andrew Drylie (Lisburn), Lee Ward (Castlewellan), Conor Hazard (Downpatrick), Luke McAnespie (Banbridge), Adam Salley (Banbridge), Jody McGovern (Newry), Jonathan Walsh (Dromore), Dylan Power (Newry), Nicholas Turkington (Carryduff), Charlie Martyn (Helen’s Bay), James Coffey (Cloughey), Matthew Dempster (Ballywalter), Thomas Brownlee (Bangor), Ryan Noble-Walker (Belfast), Michael Johnston (Carryduff), David Gray (Waringstown).

Premier squad: Marcel Salatka (Bangor), Karl Devine (Belfast), Conor McMenamin (Downpatrick), Padraig McGrath (Warrenpoint), Stuart Mallen (Banbridge), Nathan McAleese (Castlewellan), Patrick Bradley (Holywood), Samuel McClelland (Belfast), Jamie Sharvin (Killyleagh), TJ Murray (Dundonald), Ethan Knipe (Dundonald), Jay Shields (Dundonald), Michael Hunsdale (Dundonald), Adam Harwood (Dundonald), Kurtis Coffey (Cloughey), Gary McBride (Ballywalter), Johnny Kane (Belfast), Craig Barnett (Newtownards).