Another hat-trick caps off Darren’s season in style

Darren McGrath netted another hat-trick on Saturday night to cap off a great season for the forward.

This time he bagged a trio of awards at the club’s end of season dinner, being named players’ and manager’s player of the year while also picking up the award for the club’s leading goal-scorer.

Winners at the club’s dinner were:


The George Wilton Memorial Cup - leading goalscorer - Darren McGrath

The Mervyn Groves Shield - players player of the year - Darren McGrath

The H Ochiltree Cup - managers player of the year - Darren McGrath


Annett & Ingram Shield - leading goalscorer - William Martin

J Ingram Shield - players player of the year - James Ward

B Stevenson Shield - managers player of the year - Stevie Brannigan


The Gransha Engraving Shield - leading goalscorer - Niall Maginn

Players player of the year - Jordan Mark

Managers player of the year - Kevin O’Neill


The Murray Shield - leading goalscorer - Ally Wilson

The Trevor Weir Shield - players player of the year - Connell Jackson

The Davenport Shield - managers player of the year - Mark Gracey


The A. Donaldson Cup - young player of the year - James Ward

The W Cochrane Shield - most improved player - Jonathon Stewart

The Old George Cup - most dedicated player - Alan Murray

The C McKernan Cup - sportsman of the year - Neil McCracken

The G McCrory Cup - clubman of the year - Gordon Wilson

In the absence of club chairman Junior Murray, vice-chairman Mark Bickerstaff compared the evening at the Burrendale Hotel, and welcomed the guest of honour for the evening Elaine Weir and her husband Nigel making reference to the provision of a beautiful new trophy in memory of elaine’s father, the late George Wilton, who was a stalwart of the club for many years and who is sadly missed by all at the club.

This trophy will recognise Rangers’ leading goalscorer for many years to come.

A second trophy was also sponsored with a big thankyou to Neil McKinney of Gransha Engraving for his donation to the Swifts Reserves leading goalscorer trophy

Thanks deservedly then went to Adrian Megaw and Mervyn Groves for the organisation of the evening, a superb job both in preparation and on the night itself.

The vice-chairman also thanked all the mangers for their hard work and dedication, noting that despite a turbulent start to the season, new manager John Kernaghan certainly steadied the ship with a string of impressive results.

Thanks also went to former assistant Shane Reddish for his commitment before departing for career interests and also to Brian Bird, who assisted John towards the end of the season.

Mark also thanked Adrian Megaw, who took over the Swifts and helped out with training as well, not forgetting Ryan Monaghan and Conan Power who oversaw the Swifts Reserves to a commendable position in the league and the semi-final of the O’Hara Cup.

Robbie Keown was acknowledged for his mixture of youth and experience in what for the colts was a great season,s work.

Mark then thanked all the players who trained hard and played all season through thick and thin moving on thanking the sponsors who do so much for the club. It was then announced that Tom McAvoy of the Milestone has committed to another two years as main sponsor, a super gesture from a local expanding business adding best wishes for his speedy recovery after his recent injury.

Thanks as well went to all sponsors of boards, kits, etc and all those who sponsor in any other way without whom it would be imposible for the club to survive.

Thanks went to all the supporters who attend all home and away games and to Alan Dickson for his transport manager role.

The vice chairman then thanked Lindsay Bronte and his team for his progression of the youth set up with now over 210 children registered and 11 teams on the go with silverware already coming in.

Next on the agenda to receive a vote of thanks was the committee and office bearers for their continued hard work and selfless dedication to make the club what it is today with special note going to some of the senior members of the club.