A vintage year for Rathfriland is marked at dinner

Rathfriland FC held their annual Dinner Dance and Awards night at the Burrendale Hotel, Newcastle with an 140 strong crowd of players, officials sponsors and supporters on Saturday evening last.

Wednesday, 29th May 2013, 9:00 am

The club was delighted to have Anne McAvoy, wife of Tom McEvoy of main club sponsor, The Milestone Service Station, as the special guest for the evening who handed out the various prizes and awards which were as follows:

Colts (Fourths): Annett & Ingram shield - Leading Goalscorer: William Martin; J Ingram Shield – Players’ Player of the Year – James Ward; B Stevenson Shield – Manager’s Player of the Year – Alan Ervine.

Swifts Reserves (Thirds): Leading goalscorer – Ryan Hillen; Players’ Player of the Year – Darryl O’Reilly; Manager’s Player of the Year – Niall Maginn; Committement to Swifts Reserves – Liam McGivern.

Swifts: Murray Shield – Leading goalscorer – Joey Toal; T Weir Shield – Players’ Player of the Year – Philip Johnston; Davenport Shield – Manager’s Player of the Year – Philip Johnston

Rangers: Ardaragh Shield – Leading goalscorer – Ally Wilson; M Groves Shield – Players’ Player of the Year – Stevie Coulter; H Ochintree Cup – Manager’s Player of the Year – Ally Wilson.

Club awards: A Donaldson Cup – Young player of the Year – Colm McComish; W Cochrane Shield – Most Improved Player – Ryan Hillen; Old George Cup – Most Dedicated Player – Andrew Bell; C McKernan Cup – Sportsman of the Year – Ryan Monaghan; G McCrory Cup – Clubman of the Year – Maxi Beale.
One game, one minute, one goal award – Stevie Branaghan

After a super meal, Chairman Junior Murray made a speech thanking everyone in the crowd for their attendance. He also welcomed the special guests of the evening Tom and Anne McEvoy of our main club sponsor, The Milestone Service Station,

The evening could not pass without mention and tribute to the late Mr RBG Bell, a founder member and 43 year office of President of the club.

The Chairman thanked The Milestone Service Station for their continued support to the club and congratulated them on their current business expansion. He also thanked all the club sponsors for their support and all the supporters, players and managers of all the teams on their contributions week by week.

Special mention was given to Alan Frazer and Stevie McBride who led Rangers to promotion to Division 1A and also to Conan Power and Ryan Monaghan who oversaw the Swifts Reserves to their Reserve Division 4 title.

Junior then thanked Gary Wilson and David McCabe for their super organization of the event, John Annett for his help while captain Stevie Coulter and Swifts Reserves manger Conan Power all made speeches relevant to their teams’ success.The evening was rounded off to music by Shogunne and a raffle was held during the break with a great evening being enjoyed by all.