Enoch is the winner of Willie Hughes Cup

MORE glorious weather at Rathfriland led to hopes of equally good scores but this was not to be at the latest 100-bird DTL held at the club on Saturday May 26.

The club saw 67 guns in attendance for the event which had the Willie Hughes Perpetual Cup up for grabs.

As mentioned the weather was superb; the sun splitting the trees and not a cloud in the sky. However there was trouble in store thanks to a nasty wind which was not to deter all day.

On the first squad it was Rathfriland’s own who took the headlines; Enoch McCauley blasted his way to a score of 99/296 and looked good for the silverware. Mourne shooter Ronald Sloan also posted a decent score, finishing on 98/290.

From then on high scores were few and far between. The blustery conditions caught out shooter after shooter scoring disappointingly low going into the afternoon squads. McCauley continued to dominate as the final squads tried their luck. Alan Fowler came close with a hard fought 100/292. Banbridge junior Aaron McDowell was also showing form, shooting 95/281.

The Rathfriland men were also having a say late on, David Graham blasting his way to 96/281. Ballyvea shooter Davy Megaw was on top form too, finishing as winner of class B, shooting 96/280. Republic of Ireland international Jason Coffey was also to mount a late challenge for the silverware however he fell short but still came away with an excellent score of 100/295.

A mention must also go to Kilkeel junior Mark Henning who took first place in class C with a great score of 94/275. A late challenge from the likes of Rathfriland’s George Gracey was not enough who still managed a great 98/283.

In the end it was McCauley who took away the silverware, his 99/296 the high gun for the day.

Final class places were as follows: High Gun and Willie Hughes Perpetual Cup Winner – Enoch McCauley; AA 1st - Jason Coffey, AA 2nd – Alan Fowler, AA 3rd – Ronald Sloan; A 1st – Hubert Gilmore, A 2nd – Ronan Morris, A 3rd= William Robinson, Damien Corvan and Fergus Connon; B 1st – Davy Megaw, B 2nd – Frank McKay, B 3rd – David Marshall; C 1st – Mark Henning, C 2nd – Stuart Clydesdale, C 3rd – Frank Rooney.