Dromore win High Schools’ title again with a storming win

Dromore High School won the Danske Bank U16 High Schools’ Trophy on Tuesday after a dominant display over Ballyclare Secondary saw them win the final 41-0.

Wednesday, 25th March 2015, 8:42 am
The Dromore High School side celebrate their High Schools' Trophy winners.

It took seven minutes for Dromore to open the scoring as outside centre Aaron Atkinson took advantage of good hands by his inside backs to touch down for an unconverted try.

Atkinson’s midfield partner Ben Davis then broke through the Ballyclare defence to double the lead just five minutes later.

Both schools produced a number of scoring chances in the remainder of the first half but there was no way through for either side, leaving the score at 10-0 at the interval.

Influential number eight Ben Heath powered over from close range just after the break and his effort was converted by Ben Martin for a 17-0 lead. Heath added his second midway through the second half to extend the advantage to 22 points.

Hooker Jonathan Scott squeezed over for a try in the right corner and it was beautifully converted by Martin for a 31-0 lead, before replacement Bryan McCandless scored two late tries in a superb cameo appearance. Martin converted one of McCandless’ scores to seal the 41-0 win.

BALLYCLARE SECONDARY (15-9): Bailey McAuley; Christopher McWilliams, Yanis Graham, Taylor Bell, Ben Manson; Johnston Kirkpatrick, Adam Gibson (captain); (1-8): Luke Ferguson, Adam Elliot, Matthew Dougan, Jordan Birnie, Benjamin Patterson, Josh West, Morgan Wallace, Paul McGookin;

Replacements (16-21): Aran Lynch, Jake Semple, Ryan Fenwick, Adam Clarke, Philip Maybin, Ethan Corry.

DROMORE HS (15-9): Reuben Cobb; Robin Cantley, Aaron Atkinson, Ben Davis, Dylan Branker; Ben Martin, Dinis Manso (captain); (1-8): Peter O’Connor, Jonathan Scott, Oliver Beatty, Elliot Forbes, James Moore, Robert Shaw, Matthew Pepper, Ben Heath;

Replacements (16-21): Bryan McCandless, Ross Clarke, John Kirk, Marc Patton, Jake Boyd, James Smyth.