Chairman reflects on an '˜incredibly successful' season

The 115th AGM of Lisnagarvey Hockey Club took place in the clubhouse last week.

Friday, 22nd July 2016, 7:00 am
Updated Friday, 22nd July 2016, 12:28 pm
Lisnagarvey won the first EY Irish Hockey League. Pic: Presseye

The attendance was somewhat disappointing but Chairman Mark Murray gave an encouraging report on the season just past.

He had great praise for the club’s first team which almost swept the boards during an incredibly successful year. The team won the inaugural EY Hockey League by a massive margin and then lifted the Champions Trophy to complete a superb double. Their bid for the Irish Cup failed against Monkstown after a penalty shoot-out or the treble would have been achieved.

Both the junior Mens and Ladies teams all maintained their positions in their league with the Mens Seconds and Fifths winning their leagues.

He made mention of the satisfactory state of the club’s financial position and the prospect of a useful electricity saving from the recently installed solar panels.

He once again thanked all the officers of the club for their hard work and appealed to others to help in the running of the club instead of leaving it to the ‘chosen few’.

Those attending stood for a minutes silence to acknowledge the loss of three club members during the past year, Howard Clarke, Nigel Howard and Ronnie Stephenson.

The Chairman then proceeded with the election of the office bearers:

Club Office Bearers; Patron - Mr Bobby Howard, President- Mr Walter Carruthers, Trustees-Bobby Howard, Wally Mercer, Jimmy Kirkwood and Alan Dowd, Chairman- Mr Mark Murray, Vice Chairman- TBC

Honorary Secretary- Jamie Millar, Honorary Treasurer- Mr Ian Davidson, Membership Secretary - TBC, Grounds Convenor- Mr Davey Henderson, Mens Selection Convenor- Mr Walter Carruthers, Ladies Selection Convenor-Mrs Kate Beckett.

Youth Convenor- Mr Roger Kennedy, House Convenor - Mr Davey Henderson, Social Convenor - Eimer Gourley, Fundraising Convenor - Mr Andy Nye, Communications and PR - TBC, Advertising Convenor- Mr Rupert Pinion

Mens Honorary Match Secretary - Michael Bowden, Ladies Hon Match Sec - Sam Spence

Elected Officers to Management – Mrs Eileen McKillop, Mrs Jenny Howard and Mr Bob Shearer.

Captain of Mens 1st team - Daniel Buser, Vice-captain - TBC, Captain Ladies 1st team - Jenna McQueen, Vice captain TBC

Captain Mens 2nd team - Philip Stirling, Captain Ladies 2nd team - TBS, Captain Mens 3rd team - TBS, Captain Ladies 3rd team –TBS

Captain Mens 4th team Neil Brazil, Captain Ladies 4th team- TBS, Captain Mens 5th team, Mark Murray, Captain Mens 6th team - Peter Watson

Coach Mens 1st team- Errol Lutton, Coach Ladies 1st team- Davey Agnew

Manager Mens 1st team- Dean Beckett, Manager Ladies 1st team- Willy Brown