Bann Bears play in round robin league

BANBRIDGE Bears U11s took to the pitch for the first time this season for a round robin league format played against Armagh and North Down respectively.

On a sun drenched Havelock Park the boys played fantastic hockey throughout and with a strong under 11 section we had the privilege of choosing two teams to play.

First match between Banbridge and Havelock finished 4-1 to Banbridge, played in good spirit with some good goals Luke McConnell grabbed a brace while Lewis Groves and Matthew McClimonds notched the others. Jaime Mactemney replied for Havelock after good work from Caelan McKinney.

Match 2 saw Banbridge face Armagh with the hosts running out comfortable winners with a 3-0 victory; again goal machine Matthew McClimonds grabbed a brace with the other coming from Luke McConnell. Edward Rowe, Ben Montgomery and Josh Gibson were solid at the back throughout the tournament.

Match 3 saw Havelock take on North Down, again Jaime Mactemney scored from Midfield and Caelan McKinney and Jack Arlow getting the others, three goals and a clean sheet, well marshalled by Alex Jordan, Danny Mayne, Thomas Whan and Zac Simpson at the back

Match 4 saw Banbridge back in action against North Down, Bann notched up 6 in this game with every single player getting involved in most of the goals, the pick of the bunch came from lovely interchange of passing between Mark Cowan and Luke McConnell whilst the latter finishing with a tidy deflection. Matthew McClimonds went on to grab another brace whilst new comer Josh Cunningham tapped in for the other.

Match 5 saw Havelock finish the tournament on a high, Club Stalwart Norman Anderson’s Grandson popped to score the winner in a tight affair; Matthew worked hard in midfield and deserved his goal.

Overall a great performance from each individual and can only bode well for the future of Banbridge Hockey Club.

Banbridge Squad – Luke McConnell, Lewis Groves, Joshua Cunningham, Matthew McClimonds, Edward Rowe, Ben Montgomery, Mark Cowan and Josh Gibson.

Havelock Squad – Alex Jordan, Jack Arlow, Danny Mayne, Thomas Whan, Caelan McKinney, Zac Simpson, Jaime Mactemney and Matthew Anderson