Bann ASC enjoy first Division A finals

For the first time in Banbridge Amateur Swimming Club’s history, their young swimmers reached the Division A Forest Feast AquaSprint Junior Swimming League Finals.

Saturday, 20th June 2015, 10:26 am
The Banbridge ASC swimming team.

They couldn’t prevent defending champions Ards racing ahead to secure a hat-trick win over Banbridge and Bangor.

Nonetheless, the Bann team were all out to enjoy it and with wigs, whistles and coaches/parents in red Banbridge paint, the coach set off.

The relays began with the A Group and Banbridge swimmers were Alana Burns-Atkins, Caelan McCracken, Katie McFarlane and Pearse Rice.

Banbridge Team Captains Julia Knox and Dawson Patterson (right) with their third place medals. Also pictured are winning captains Zach Balfour and Rebekah Burrows (centre) and Bangors Pearse Farren and Mia Davison (left)with Christine Whelan, Forest Feast Field Sales Manager.

The B Group were Issacc Forsythe, Sarah McEvoy, Ronan Quinn and Niamh McGeown. The C Group swimmers consisted of Rachel Blemmings, Jennifer Morrow, Niall McGeown and Peter Bigley.

Finally, the D Group were Ryan Bigley, Ruby McNiff, Julia Knox and Dawson Patterson. The C Group managed to secure a second place but the other teams had to content themselves with third position.

In Backstroke, Bann’s best swims came from Katie McFarlane in the A Group (and only seven years of age) who came second as did Sarah McEvoy in the B Group.

In the Group C Girls, Rachel Blemmings was second and Sorcha came in third.

Brothers Peter and Ryan Bigley both won their backstroke and Julia Knox fought off stiff competition to come in second.

In the individual Breaststroke event, our strongest swimmers included, in the A Group, Katie McFarlane, again who came second and Caelan McCracken and Bailey Breen (third and fourth).

Sarah McEvoy and Ronan Quinn both came in third for the B Group. For the C Group, Rachel Blemmings and Jennifer Morrow were second and fourth, Senan Carr and Sam Johnston were also second and fourth and Julia Knox was also second.

Ryan Bigley, a tremendous swimmer was Banbridge’s only first in breaststroke.

In the butterfly event, seven year old Katie McFarlane, and Peter and Ryan Bigley all won their 25m sprint. Rachel Blemmings and Julia Knox were second and Bailey Breen, Niamh McGeown and Ronan Quinn were all in fourth position in tough races.

Katie McFarlane from the A Group excelled again with a first place and this time in the freestyle event. Peter Bigley also came in first and Rachel Blemmings, Julia Knox and Ryan Bigley came in second place. Pearse Rice and Sorcha Boersma both secured a third.

Our Freestyle relays were more successful than the medley relays.

Niamh, Sarah, Issac and Ronan swam a fast event. Sorcha, Rachel, Niall and Peter also came second as did Group D swimmers, Dawson, Ruby, Ryan and Julia.

Banbridge’s Group A relay swimmers also included Noah Breen, Orrin Miskimmons, Holly Hubert, Ciara Daly, Holly McKibben and Megan Williams. Group B swimmers included Jack Dougan, Peter McGrath, Jack Lennon, Christopher Mahood Ellie Bingham and Dia McCrory.

Group C consisted of Finlay Wright, Ben Farson, Taylor Hill, Kevina Burns, Clodagh McGrady and Elinor Bradley.

Group D also had Daniel Brown, Adam Wilson, Aidin Quinn, Kathryn McGrath, Zoe Kilpatrick and Rachel Allenby.

Banbridge ASC sent thanks to everyone as always, to coaches Graham, Geraldine, Patrick, Stephen, Lee, Davey J and Fiona. Thanks also to the parents and timekeepers and to the swimmer for superb swimming on the night!