Volunteers recognised at ACE meeting

TO recognise all the hard work put in by local community volunteers, Annaclone Community Engagement (ACE) Group held a special recognition event as part of their AGM on Tuesday January 29 in the local GAA Hall.

Volunteers who had performed outstanding work in Annaclone were selected by the Chairpersons of various Annaclone Community Groups and presented with a special engraved glass trophy in recognition of their hard work.

“There are many people who work very hard in Annaclone to provide services and activities for local people”, says Geraldine Fusciardi, Chairperson of ACE.

“We live in a rural community and depend upon volunteers to make our community an active, fun and caring place to live. We were very fortunate to get some funding from the Volunteer Bureau (Small Grants Programme) to recognise voluntary activities and we can’t thank our volunteers enough for selflessly giving their time week after week.”

Annaclone volunteers receiving recognition are Colette Malone and Breen and Vera Mulholland (Parent and Toddler Group); Brian Doyle and Mark Haughey (Youth Club); Louise Mallon, Kate Walker, Ann McArdle (Parent Association); Vincent Rice and Pauline McNeill (Young At Heart), Eileen McClory and Mary Higgins (Comhaltas Group); Joe Farrell and John Heenan (GAA); Teresa McAvoy and Teresa McGivern (Ladies Group); Pauline McCrory and Leo McNeill (History Group); Bronagh Rafferty, Aldo Fusciardi and Kieran Heenan (ACE Group).

ACE Group officers are Geraldine Fusciardi (Chairperson), Michelle McAvoy (Treasurer) and Bronagh Rafferty (Secretary).