Special event to recognise local volunteers

A special event was held recently at Craigavon Civic Centre to say '˜Thank You' and to celebrate and recognise volunteering within Southern Trust facilities both in community and acute settings.

Friday, 8th July 2016, 7:32 am
Group photo of Volunteer Recognition Event.

Speaking at the event, Mrs Roberta Brownlee, Southern Trust Chairperson thanked everyone and said: “This is a great time to stop, take stock and publicly thank our volunteers for their time and commitment. It is our chance to celebrate and recognise volunteers throughout the Southern Trust.”

Trust Volunteer co-ordinators Kate Johnston and Deirdre Magill said: “The Trust greatly values the support of our volunteers and we recognise their hard work and commitment.

“The value of volunteers in the Trust is in the special qualities that they bring which complement the work of our paid staff to provide a more satisfying experience for our service users.”

“Involving volunteers helps to create a service that is more responsive to local community needs and helps to support people within our communities and facilities to live healthier, independent lives.”

During the event, those volunteers who reached a milestone such as 5, 10, 15 or 20 years’ service were presented with a gift and certificate, whilst younger volunteers, aged between 16 and 24, were presented with their Millennium Award Certificate for 50 or 100 hours of volunteering service by Mrs Denise Haywood from Volunteer Now.

Mr Gerard Rocks, Acting Assistant Director of Promoting Wellbeing paid tribute to all the volunteers within the Trust: “The Southern Trust could not operate without volunteers. They are the local heroes that help us provide a vital service in the Trust.”

If you are interested in finding out more about volunteering opportunities in the Southern Trust: Contact

Gerardette McVeigh, Tel: 028 3831 1484 or Email: [email protected]; Kate Johnston, Tel: 028 3741 2116 or Email: [email protected]; Deirdre Magill, Tel: 028 834325/270 or Email: [email protected]