SF’s Catherine Seeley and John O’Dowd win seats but Dolores Kelly is ousted

editorial image

Sinn Fein’s Catherine Seeley and John O’Dowd triumphed in the final count at Upper Bann while the SDLP’s Dolores Kelly lost her seat.

In a nail-biting finish to a lengthy battle in Upper Bann, it came down to transfers and the two Sinn Fein candidates pipped in below quota.

Prior to their win, Dolores Kelly lost her seat after she failed to reach the quota.

Despite hopes that transfers would see her through after Ulster Unionist Doug Beattie narrowly reached a quota to win a seat for the first time, Mrs Kelly was ousted after 12 years working as an MLA in Upper Bann.

Earlier in the day Ulster Unionist Jo-Anne Dobson regained her seat as an MLA after transfers.

Yesterday the DUP’s Carla Lockhart topped the poll and her party colleague Sydney Anderson was elected on the second count.

Your MLAs for Upper Bann are Carla Lockhart (DUP) Sydney Anderson (DUP) Jo-Anne Dobson (UUP) Doug Beattie (UUP) Catherine Seeley (SF) and John O’Dowd (SF).