Nominate your Police Officer of the Year

E DISTRICT Commander, Chief Superintendent Alasdair Robinson encouraged the public to submit nominations for Police Officer of the Year and Neighbourhood Policing Team of the Year following the launch of the 2012 Policing with the Community Awards last week.

Chief Superintendent Robinson said: “The Policing with the Community Awards, held annually since 2003, pay tribute to the contribution and commitment of police officers and staff who work in partnership with local people to develop a local response to address the need identified by the communities.

“We are committed to delivering the finest personal, professional, protective policing service to all communities across Northern Ireland. Over the past 12 months we have seen crime reduce in E District and confidence levels in policing increase.

“Much of this has been achieved by police officers and staff working in partnership with communities across the district.

“We continue to explore new ways of engaging with our local communities, ensuring that officers and staff are available in the right numbers, in the right places at the right times to make a difference. The introduction of new technology and streamlining of administrative processes have increased the amount of time police officers spend on patrol per day by almost two hours.

“In recognition of these changes and improvements, we have also introduced three new categories to this year’s Policing with the Community Awards, personal policing service, protective policing service and professional policing service awards – in each of these categories we will be looking individuals who put themselves on the frontline to prevent serious harm and providing that necessary reassurance to their local communities.

“Working in partnership with other agencies, community groups and individuals, we remain resolute in our commitment to making E District a safer place for everyone.”

The Police Service has a dedicated Policing with the Community Branch that develops community policing and best practice throughout the service.  

The Awards, which are an initiative of the branch, are designed to acknowledge commitment and innovation.

Nomination forms can be obtained at all police stations throughout Northern Ireland or by logging onto

The closing date for nominations is Wednesday 18 July 2012.

There are a total of eight Award categories:

Neighbourhood Policing Team of the Year; Personal Policing Service Award; Protective Policing Service Award; Professional Policing Service Award;

Police Officer of the Year Award; Police Staff Member of the Year Award; Diversity in Action Award; Problem Solving Award.

A £2,000 bursary will be presented to each category winner, which can be spent on a Policing with the Community initiative.

Police Commanders along with local Policing and Community Safety Partnerships will nominate candidates for all categories. A panel drawn from the Police Service, the Policing Board and independent external representatives will judge each category.