New Lord Mayor and deputy elected

Sinn Fein councillor Garath Keating has been appointed as the new Lord Mayor of Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council.

Monday, 6th June 2016, 8:27 pm
Updated Monday, 6th June 2016, 9:32 pm
Sinn Fein's Garath Keating. INPT23-006

The Armagh man was elected at the council’s annual general meeting tonight (Monday) and takes over from the DUP’s Darryn Causby.

The new Deputy Lord Mayor is DUP councillor Paul Greenfield.

Under the D’Hondt system agreed last year the top two roles had to go to Sinn Fein and DUP councillors respectively.

Two new members were also welcomed into the council to replace councillors who have taken up MLA posts. They are Liam Mackle of Sinn Fein who replaces Catherine Seeley and Terry McWilliams of the DUP who takes the place of Carla Lockhart.

Cusher DUP councillor Gareth Wilson was also elevated to the title of alderman following Alderman Lockhart’s departure.